Traditional Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
Some of the directions seem to be missing..... When browning the onions, make sure the onions are a deep brownish/red color before adding the spices. They should not be white. Also, once you add the tomatoes, let some of the liquid evaporate and cook until the oil separates from the tomaotes before going to the next step. You will see the tomatoes thicken up a bit. miglenova: There is NO curry powder in this recipe. Most Indian curries do NOT use curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simmig
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I made several substitutions. I used a Tbsp of garam masala and substituted a Tbsp of a good curry powder for the other spices. Instead of yogurt I used coconut milk as others suggested. I didn't have the lemon or tomato juice (substituted a can of tomato sauce. I always prefer more vegetables so I added chopped carrot, bell pepper and two jalapenos at the same time as the potato and for the last 10 minutes some frozen peas that I had on hand. Many vegetables would go well in this dish. I also added a chicken bouillon cube to the water. Salt was a must add! Awesome recipe! Everyone was begging for more and for thee recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I was nervous about the long list of ingredients, but now that I have made it so many times, I wouldn't change a thing. This is a great curry that you can easily adjust the "heat" to your own preference. About half way through, I divide the curry and make one very hot for myself, and the other I leave mild for my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetPea
Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: O Fallon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I would DEFINITELY make this recipe again. It was superb; in fact, it was even better after it sat in the fridge a couple of days to let the flavors mingle. YUM! My hubby requested that I tinker to make it spicy, but I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
We and our friends thoroughly enjoyed this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
very good! We added a little bit of spice to it after serving up the kids but even without that it would be very good. Am for sure going to make it again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
This was excellent. If you love indian food try this. I added some chopped spinach and substituted sour cream for the yogurt and served over basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
Added 4 cloves of garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I've tried this recipe twice so far and really enjoy it. Although I didn't follow the tips of the previous reviewer, I will keep them in mind when making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
As I was anxious to start this (and hungry) I put the lemon juice, salt and pepper into the pan with the chicken (I used chicken thighs). I also substituted low fat creme fraiche instead of the yoghurt and did not add water as we like a thick curry. This curry was delicious! Better than some I have had in Indian restaurants. This has been saved to my recipe box and will be used many, many times in the future!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Pearson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States