Traditional Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
Some of the directions seem to be missing..... When browning the onions, make sure the onions are a deep brownish/red color before adding the spices. They should not be white. Also, once you add the tomatoes, let some of the liquid evaporate and cook until the oil separates from the tomaotes before going to the next step. You will see the tomatoes thicken up a bit. miglenova: There is NO curry powder in this recipe. Most Indian curries do NOT use curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simmig
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
If you're looking a traditional INDIAN curry, then this is it. If, however, you are looking for a RED curry, then I suggest you try a THAI curry. The point of this curry is not the heat but the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADAMEMIMI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aldershot, Hampshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Bury, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I made several substitutions. I used a Tbsp of garam masala and substituted a Tbsp of a good curry powder for the other spices. Instead of yogurt I used coconut milk as others suggested. I didn't have the lemon or tomato juice (substituted a can of tomato sauce. I always prefer more vegetables so I added chopped carrot, bell pepper and two jalapenos at the same time as the potato and for the last 10 minutes some frozen peas that I had on hand. Many vegetables would go well in this dish. I also added a chicken bouillon cube to the water. Salt was a must add! Awesome recipe! Everyone was begging for more and for thee recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
As I was anxious to start this (and hungry) I put the lemon juice, salt and pepper into the pan with the chicken (I used chicken thighs). I also substituted low fat creme fraiche instead of the yoghurt and did not add water as we like a thick curry. This curry was delicious! Better than some I have had in Indian restaurants. This has been saved to my recipe box and will be used many, many times in the future!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Pearson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I was a little disappointed. I am a huge fan of curries, and this one seemed lackluster in flavor. It wasn't bad at all, but I think I should have doubled the spices, and might prefer coconut milk over yogurt. I might try it again with those changes, but not like this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anru7695

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
This was excellent. If you love indian food try this. I added some chopped spinach and substituted sour cream for the yogurt and served over basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I would DEFINITELY make this recipe again. It was superb; in fact, it was even better after it sat in the fridge a couple of days to let the flavors mingle. YUM! My hubby requested that I tinker to make it spicy, but I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This was good, but not great. Another reviewer was really on point when saying this is closer to tasting like chicken chili. The only real change I made was adding a few veggies - zucchini, bell pepper, and carrots (all added after sweating the onions). Although I enjoyed it, it certainly wasn't what I was looking for in an Indian Curry. BTW, I waited to add the yogurt until near the end - as I've seen recommended by other reviewers and in recipes - but it curdled anyhow. Will definitely use coconut milk the next time I make a curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTaylorTulsa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
very good! We added a little bit of spice to it after serving up the kids but even without that it would be very good. Am for sure going to make it again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
We and our friends thoroughly enjoyed this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States