Traditional Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I am sorry, but I didn't care for this. Made it exactly as written, and we were all disappointed in the lack of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awilson614

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I MADE THIS CAKE FOR A FRIEND. THE BATTER WAS VERY VERY THICK. BUT IT TASTED GREAT. WHAT COULD I DO SO THAT IT WONT BE SO THICK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This cake is amazing, thought the batter looked quite scary.. the outcome was awesome. My husband is diabetic and just loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I made this cake for some company coming in tonight...served it with tea....very big hit...everyone loved it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Was so good. I definatley recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I made 2 of these cakes, one for my family and one for a diabetic friend. They turned out fantastic. Dont be alarmed if the batter looks thick in the beginning, the pineapple adds just enough moisture. Excellent recipe. Oh, the reason your carrots turned green is because you cant used pre-packaged carrots for salads for carrot cake, the pieces are just too large to cook into the batter and oxidize with the spices. Just a little patience,love and a small toothed grater will do the trick next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
I wanted to make something special for my diabetic husband's birthday and found this receipe. I read all the reviews and it seemed perfect. I made the adjustments according to the reviewer's suggestions (extra water and cinnamon, baked in 2 8" pans, shorter baking time). It came out somewhat dry and the carrots turned green!!(from the extra cinnamon??)Can anyone explain the color change? I used prepackaged grated carrots to save time. Now I have a huge cake that my husband won't eat. Very disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
My family loves this cake. I substituted raisens for coconut and pecans for walnuts and made a sheet cake. I will do cupcakes next. Did not even try an icing. This is worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oswego, New York, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Thought it was very good. Even took it to preschool for impartial reviews. Of the kids who liked carrot cake, they all liked this one! Used the cream cheese frosting recipe of a previous reviewer and it turned out great. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I made this on Thanksgiving. It was delicious and incredibly moist. It got great reviews and even got compared to the carrot cake at a famous restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States