Traditional Bakewell Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
One of our favorite tarts and sometimes I use rice flour rather than all purpose. I think originally that was what it called for . Gives an interesting texture.Always use a little almond flavoring and omit lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I made this into mini tarts instead of a big one and they turned out fantastic. Added some almond extract. Delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MIKEY
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
YUM! I've always wanted to make one of these, and it did not disappoint. I made 12 minis actually, in a muffin tin. I probably used a thicker layer of jam than in the recipe. I also added almond extract to the cake part, only because I like it like that, but it would have been good without! Yumyum, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
My British husband wasn't very impressed. I think if it had enough jam to make a substantial layer on the crust it would've been much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inexcelsis
Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
The Bakewell Tart is a bit of a tradition for my family and I. Having lived in the pretty market town of Bakewell in Derbyshire, England. Home to the original Bakewell tart, before we moved here to America 2 years ago. The dessert dates back to the 1860s. Bakewell tarts are often called Bakewell puddings, but the two desserts are essentially the same. While this recipe is pretty good, I have had to make a few changes to make the recipe more traditional. The pastry should be an almond short crust pastry, I make my pastry as usual but add 1/3 cup of ground almonds. For the frangipane centre I use Clementine zest not lemon. Once the tart has been baked, I always top with Royal icing. A Bakewell tart can essentially be iced or not, but for me the icing just finishes off the cake entirely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
You can omit all the pastry trimming stuff and just fill a regular pastry pie shell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trishie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
WOW!! I made this at home and it was awesome!! I think that A LOT more people should try making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States