Traci's Adobo Seasoning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I'm always so happy to be the first to review a recipe, particularly when I can rate it highly. I'm not very familiar or experienced with Tex-Mex or Mexican cooking and the seasonings used, but I do know what I like. Going over the list of herbs and spices, hauling them out of the cabinet one by one, and then mixing them up all told me I was going to like this. The aroma was really wonderful, and it just looked, well, GOOD. My intention was to season some shrimp with this tomorrow but I was too curious to wait that long. I seasoned up a hamburger with this wonderful stuff and grilled it for lunch. It took the boring ol' hamburger and made it something truly special. Even tho' I'm not sure exactly what "Adobo" means or what it's used for, I still know that I can't wait to try this on other meats, chicken, rice, roasted potatoes or for marinades . As I started to make this I could have kicked myself because I had intended to make only half a recipe to start, to see if I liked it, but then realized I was dumping the full amounts into the mixing bowl. As it turned out my happy accident saved me the trouble of having to haul out all those spices again to make a second batch! Nice recipe, Traci. You got the combination and balance just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I made a half batch of this last night and sprinkled most of it over a huge bowl of lightly buttered air popped popcorn. GREAT. Even my kids snarfed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Looks good! Smells good! Easy to make! I did not put in the salt because we tend not to use any, and I think the seasoning is fine without it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
We love the taste of adobo peppers in sauce so in order to get the smokey taste we use smoked paprika. It makes all the difference. Infact we'd use smoke paprika instead of regular. It's a staple in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ourway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Fabulous combination herbs and spices to create a wonderfully flavorful seasoning blend- everything in just the right proportion! Definitely something I would mix up keep on hand in a little tupperware container for future use. Worked great as a rub for grilled chicken! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Had no clue what Adobo seasoning was but its truly delicious. I had everything to mix it up and reading past reviews decided to make the whole batch instead of only half like I was going to. I used this in the Sunday Chicken Dinner by Christina from this site instead of the cajun seasoning the recipe called for. Fantastic!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Ok, so, I've never had or made adobo seasoning before, but when I saw that I had everything for this I thought I'd give it a try...I am sooooo glad I did! This is wonderful and I can think of a million and 1 things to use it on. I made this exactly as written and put it into an extra salt shaker that I had, and right next to my salt & pepper shakers it went...I have a feeling that I'm gonna be using this A LOT, lol! Thanks, Traci, for this wonderful, flavorful spice blend! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Thank you, Traci! I used this on some fajitas tonight, and it achieved the level of flavor I was hoping for. I used it on a Denver Omlet, Sunday and it was great there, too! You have a true winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Harvey, daPITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Climax, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I have never had pre made adobo seasoning, so I can't say how this compares to those, but I can say this is fantastic! I made it for a coleslaw recipe(the "Pittsburgh Sandwich" recipe from this site) and it was the best coleslaw I have ever had. Then I tried it on roasted asparagus and it was amazing. Then I took another reviewers idea and put it on popcorn. Also amazing. I made a half batch this time, but will double the recipe next time I make it. Which won't be long at the rate I'm going through this stuff! I did cut back on salt a bit per other reviewers but left every thing else as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambibambi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Just had some chicken I used with this - totally awesome. I went light on the salt & it's still the bomb. 'Tastes like it would go equally well with whitefish. 'Think I'm going to try the smoked paprika idea next time around along with some smoked salt. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States