Traci B's Callaloo Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I loved it! I used water instead of oil as I want to reduce the calories. It worked, it just needed to be cooked ten minutes instead of 5 minutes. I also added a fresh tomato and a half cup of corn kernels (canned, but no salt) and no salt added beans (there's tons of sodium in most canned beans). Lastly, as a vegan, I used vegetables cubes (one salted, one no salt added) to create the brouillion. It was excellent!!! :-) Thank you, Traci!!!! :) :) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Very nice soup! I had never had a callaloo but was familiar with each ingredient and actually had pretty much everything in stock. I had roasted vegetable last week and so had leftover sweet potato chunks on hand. I used ground ginger as I didn't have any fresh ginger. I used lite coconut milk--so I might have saved a few fat calories. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I liked this soup for the nutrition.I added black beans instead of peas. I also added salt and a little jerk seasoning to amp up the flavor. I served it over quinoa. It could also be served over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hunnylover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Ignore the reviews saying this is bland! Very good, full of superfoods and easy to make. I would recommend adding a bit of cayenne pepper or a scotch bonnet to "season" the pot - I used both. Slice a few slits into the pepper and toss it in whole. This will release the great flavor without too much of the heat. Remove the pepper before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Halved recipe. would prefer less garlic, no thyme and increase other herbs/spices. Needs tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
loved this soup! Used the okra, and callaloo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
I absolutely loved this recipe! Just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I did and i loved it...I had tried another on that had some of the ingredients but not enough spices... I love the combination of the ginger tumeric and coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Delicious. I've made this twice--the first time I didn't have all the spaces, but it was still good. This time I had everything and it's wonderful. Make sure to add the lime juice gradually--it can overwhelm the soup if you add too much. My only substitution was collards for kale since that's what I had. I put them in with the sweet potatoes so they would cook enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Wonderful balance of so many flavors and all the superfoods make it possible for my daughter who is very picky to enjoy this as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieGee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States