Traci B's Callaloo Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by LALA1397
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
The reviews were not helpful so I decided to try the soup anyway. I must say it was delicious. The favors were so well blended. I must admit I added a little salt and black pepper. The aroma was wonderful. Thank you so much for sharing. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I recommend you use stock rather than broth since it's more flavorful! You can up the spices if you prefer. I like to puree a little bit of the veggies to add into my stock as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Pretty bland. I would have added some orange juice to complement the soup's other spices if I had had it on hand. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katherine
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I liked this soup but found the flavour a bit bland. It is super healthy so I will make it again, but next time will probably double the spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
The lime did it. It is a sweet soup. I made it the day before and just put the lime juice on the table and told guest to add a few drops. They loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This had a mild flavor so I added some crushed pepper flakes! Taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I think some people would really like this soup. It was not my favorite. It has good coconut flavor if you like that and it is very healthy and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I'm giving this 3 stars instead of 1 only because of the nutritional value of this soup. I am so sorry, but this was terrible. I followed the directions exactly except I didn't have thyme, so I used rosemary and I also used home-made vegetable stock. Maybe that's what my error was, I don't know, but we couldn't eat it. I did notice that the soup seemed a little more edible before I put in the lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mooringsport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
This is one of the greatest tast I've tried, ginger and coconut milk gives a very good twist to Kale, thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Deeelish!! This soup is fantastic! The only change I made was to use black beans in place of back-eyed peas due to a mistake in reading the ingredients but the flavors and textures still meshed together wonderfully! Thanks for this keeper!! Oh i also used fresh lime :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoyhoyCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States