Tourtiere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This was a very easy and delicious recipe, although I did make some minor changes. Used fresh thyme and a couple pinches of dry rosemary instead of the sage, 2 carrots, and used beef stock instead of the water. Next time I would brown the meat and bacon separately since it took so long (a lot of meat and an average sized Dutch oven), and I think that would also make straining the fat easier. My husband loved it and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I found it very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port-Au-Prince, Ouest, Haiti
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Made the recipe as written, never having had/heard of tourtiere, not being French in any way, just looking for a different way to serve ground pork/veal. Absolutely delicious! Wouldn't change a thing. Subtle flavors, flaky crust; I loved it. It took a little less time in my convection oven; I took it out when it was a beautiful golden brown. Do let it cool a bit, it stays together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Excellent! I made two pies, and they were gone in no time! I usually make this for Christmas Eve, but you can make this any time of the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Qualicum Beach, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Very good! Very simple! I didn't have sage so I used thyme instead and it was still good. It's a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This is absolutely BY FAR the BEST tourtiere I've ever had! Most families will add leftover mashed potatoes as well to make a creamier consistency...I had some sweet potatoes on hand so I added them instead. That was such an interesting flavor combination with the sweet from the potato and the hickory from the bacon. I couldn't wait to try it after having to smell it bake! It was definitely a nice change from the regular tourtiere that I'm used to having and will now be a permanent addition to our holiday meals. Thanks SO MUCH!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhondam

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Falher, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Whitecourt, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Absolutely delicious. I had half a pound of ground veal left after making meatloaf and decided to try out this recipe. Wow. Because this is a rather simplistic dish (a basic meat pie), using quality ingredients is crucial. With the ingredients called for it's a definite 5-star recipe. If you're tempted to omit the veal or pork and use ground beef instead, don't! It WILL fall flat. So, do yourself a flavor (ha ha) and make sure to use the meats and spices called for. I'm sure you will be impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Can't really give it 5 stars because I only used it as a guideline. However, my results were delicious! I used ground pork and bacon, I added grated carrot, a bit of tomato juice and some fresh parsley. I also had to use poultry seasoning as I had no sage. I used two frozen pie shells and put one over top of the other. Turned out quite nice, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This is an absolutely terrific recipe and everyone went nuts over it. I served it with a red onion/apple marmalade. I made the following changes. 1 1/2 lbs pork, 8 slices of bacon, 2/3 cup of both celery and onion, 1 1/2 tsp sage. Chicken broth instead of water. 2 or 3 cloves of garlic. (I did use the 1/2 lb veal)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I've been using this recipe for the past 5 yrs now and always get requests to bring to family get togethers at Christmas time. I do agree that the addition of bacon to this classic recipe makes the "little difference"... excellent recipe!! :oD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimelu

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States