Tourtiere Spices Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Just mixed this together to use in 'Reveillon Tourtiere' from AR for Christmas dinner. It smells amazing! I did add half a teaspoon of ground allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This was just what I was looking for I combined it with the Cipate Pie which is the way they make it on the south shore of Quebec. I did add the allspice as well. I soaked my meat & potatoes in theses spices which chicken broth overnight. The smell as it cooked was mouth watering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Please add "all spice" (piment de la jamaique) to the mix, it is essential!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This was very good. I also added 1/4tsp cardamom and 1/2tsp onion powder (to take the place of chopped onion in the meat mix).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elusivek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Goffstown, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Great spice combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARTINATHEDIVA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laval, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
What a great idea - I never thought to prepare this mix ahead of time! My mom and aunts will be thrilled to receive little jars of this at Christmas - they were raised by my French-Canadian great aunt and are forever talking about her cooking. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
It smells delicious. Now to try it in the pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
I've never had tourtiere pie before, but I'm making bite-sized "tourtiere phyllo bundle" appetizers for a staff Christmas party this year. I used an entire recipe of this spice in approximately 1 lb of pork, and will be wrapping small amounts of it in phyllo, and baking until crisp. The filling, so far, is great - slightly floral, nicely spiced and balanced by the cloves, pepper, and cinnamon. I would make this again to accompany pork, or even lamb - delicious! Edit: everyone loved the pork bundles! I had cooked the pork a little lean, so the appetizers were served with a tamarind sauce. With or without the sauce, the hors d'oevres were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States