Tourtiere (Meat Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by OjibwayGirl
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Delicious. I didn't have a potato but had shredded frozen hash browns and they worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
My mother made this every Christmas Eve. We would go to midnight mass, come home, open one gift and eat tourtiere. It was magical. She still makes one pie for me at Christmas for my family. We don't attend midnight mass anymore, but we ALWAYS have this at Christmas Eve. I should make it more often - it's a fabulous cold weather treat or meal. I leave off the nutmeg - it's too much for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
fabulous, thanks so much for sharing! My husband loved it. I used ground veal instead of lean ground meat, and added a 1/4 teaspoon of allspice and instead of water I used chicken broth. Its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robynnsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
delicious...now that it's getting colder, will be a staple for my fall/winter dinners
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I've made this several times and it is really delicious and pretty simple. I like the spice combination, even though it is different from what's usually used with ground pork & beef. The only thing I change is I leave out the onion and garlic (I can't eat them) and use some celery seed in their place. I definitely recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This was a fantastic dish! My 4-H club made this for their family dinner and everyone LOVED it. There were several families that asked for this recipe and I plan on using it myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This is delicious. I've never had shepherd's pie before. Next time I will not add the bouillan and will reduce the clove as that was a little overpowering of a flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I have made meat pies before but this recipe was very, very good..My family loved it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This is an excellent recipe. The spices are just wonderful and would be perfect for a Christmas pie (in fact, I plan to make it for my inlaws this Christmas). This time, though, I made it using an empanada maker as little mini-pies to have as appetizers. If you do this, I'd recommend adding the potato at the same time as the other veg along with a little more water and simmering for about 20 minutes ( you want the potato to be firm tender). This is because the bake time on the little pies is only about 20 minutes instead of the full 45, so the potato won't get done in the oven. This quantity of filling will make about 3 - 4 dozen 3.5 inch diameter empanadas. If you reroll the scraps, you can get about a dozen from one 9 in. crust, so you'll need four crusts for the entire batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I don't know what an authentic tourtiere would taste like, but I found the flavor of this recipe to be bland. Otherwise, I did take the advice of other cooks who chopped and parboiled the potatoes and this seemed to work fine. The cooking instructions were fine, just not a great flavor to me. Perhaps adding some Maggi seasoning would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States