Tourtiere (Meat Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
I think it needed a thickener, maybe a little gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
My husband and I thought this was very good. The spices were not over powering. I used the "Miracle Baking Powder Pie Crust" from this site, which came out very flaky, tasty, and a perfect companion with this meat pie. Will make again and again. Thanks for an excellect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Henderson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Finally! I've now found a recipe to rival my father's! Our grocery store sells a 'meatloaf mix' which is 1/3 lean ground beef, 1/3 ground pork and 1/3 ground veal. This is the only change I made. I doubled the recipe and am so glad I did ... because now we have another whole pie in the freezer for New Years Eve!! My husband is still raving to his family about the Tourtiere we had on Christmas Eve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
My whole family loved this and it was easy for a beginner to cook, though time-consuming. The great part is that it uses ingredients that we keep around the house, but the staple dessert spices give the "same old" a completely new spin. My approach was to use only beef (it was all we had), boil the potatoes, and not worry about the egg wash. Everyone was pleased, so we'll be doing this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fly by Light

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
WOW!! This was very good! I took other reviewers advice & omitted the cinnamon & cloves, and added an extra potato. My husband raved about it all night long! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Reitha
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This turned out beautiful. The taste was what I expected, (from the ingredients listed) but I think it needs a sauce of some kind, some gravy or something to bind it together. Oh, I only used pork and no cloves. I hate buying spices for one recipe and never useing them again. All in all it was good. Thanks! AND can someone tell me the correct way to pronounce tourtiere?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reitha
Home Town: Bolivar, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I have made this tourtiere twice and here's what I learned: 1) it's better to boil the potato pieces for about 10 minutes before adding them to the meat mixture (1st time they were undercooked) 2) we thought the original recipe was pretty good, but found we didn't really care for the cinnamon and cloves, so the second time I made this, I omitted them. Might taste a little less like a true tortiere, but it sure makes a delicious meat pie that even picky kids will love. 3) If you think you have celery in your crisper and realize at the last minute that you don't, a cup of frozen peas tossed in makes a great substitute. 4)Tasty recipe and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
My husband and I love going to Quebec for Christmas every three years. This recipe reminded me of the wonderful scents that came from the local restaurants. I used a mixture of ground beef, ground pork and ground veal, which is easily available at the grocery store. Mincing the vegetables were a task, but well worth it. The spices were perfect and filled my kitchen with a wonderful savory scent. It was snowing really hard yesterday and this dish fit the bill with a hungry husband who spent the whole day out on the road. This recipe is definitely a keeper in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This recipe I serve with peppercorn gravy and have had to pass on the recipe to all that taste it! Even better than mom used to make! (Even SHE asked for my recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Best Tourtiere recipe yet! Very tasty combination of spices, strong, but not strange or anything. Excellent instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States