Tourtiere (Meat Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by xoxo_lina
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I followed other reviewers' suggestions and boiled the potato, carrot and celery. Other than that, I followed the recipe and my boyfriend and I really enjoyed it! I found the mix of spices very unusual but it totally worked! I served with a side of caesar salad and tomato soup. There was a lot of filling leftover after packing a 9" crust. That's okay though - I put the excess in a Ziplock bag in the freezer. It'll be a quick dinner by throwing in some brown rice and serving with a green salad on a side. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xoxo_lina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
My husband looooovves this dish! He is not a picky eater, but does not eat much. I knew this was a hit he helped himself to several servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This was a good recipe. I omitted the potatoes since my Mom and grandmother's recipes didn't have them in them. I doubled the recipe, and baked it in a jelly roll pan. I baked it at 450 degrees F for 15 mins, then lowered the temp to 350 degrees for the remaining 30 mins. It was GONE at Christmas dinner and was asked for the recipe from all who were there! I made it a day ahead, and just reheated it the next day. This recipe lends itself well to that and freezing for a later date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mainamom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Excellent. Great flavour. I've made this more than once and it always turns out. The only change I make is to grate the carrot and potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I was actually looking for a plain English pie recipe when I came across this one. I omitted the cinnamon, bay leaves, cloves and nutmeg, as I just wanted that Meat and Potato flavor. It was excellent, just what I was looking for. My 3 year old gobbled it up too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackpool, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
EXCELLENT! Our entire family loved this. I did not use the celery, and only used the cinnamon. Added garlic powder, basil, oregano, and salt. The results were fantastic! My 7 year old told me I "could make this any time!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4kidsinthehouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This sounded like an odd combination with the meat and spices but it was EXCELLENT! We loved it! I made it exactly as called for except used beef bullion instead of chicken since that was all we had. I did not have a problem with undercooked potatoes. I think the key there is to cut them really tiny which is what I did. We'll definately be having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Just great, doubled the recipe, omitted the cloves (didn't have ground cloves), added small amount of cayenne pepper, cooked and mashed the potatoes. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This came out pretty good. I agree with the other reviewers with the fact that there isn't enough liquid. I took that into account and added 1 packet onion mushroom soup mix as well as water mixed with a little cornstarch before adding to the pie crust. It still was a bit on the drier side. I actually enjoyed the nutmeg, cloves and cinnamon. The flavors were subtle and not overpowering. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baby Potsticker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I loved this recipe, it tasted great and was fun to make. Only difference I made was, I made my own pie crust rather then buying a store bought one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States