Tourtiere (Meat Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
So good, I did spice it up a little. I added 2 tsp cumin and 1/4 tsp allspice. Other reviewers said the potatoe was under cooked I don't think they chopped the potatoe small enough. Dice them just like the carrots and celery and it will turn out lovely! This is my new meat pie, so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This is absolutely the best Tourtiere although I did add 1 tsp Allspice for authenticity. For ease and consistency, I put the potato, celery and carrot through the food processor, chopped very fine. I did as another reviewer suggested - cooked the meat the day before. I used Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust for the pastry - this is the best pastry. And I made the pies into 5" tart size. We had one last night and the rest I've frozen. I was making these for gifts so I 6X the filling recipe and doubled the pastry recipe - got exactly 16 small pies. A tourtiere is different from a regular meat pie. Leave the spices out and that's what you've got - a regular meat pie, not tourtiere. I put the rather dry pastry scraps into the mixer, added a little water (maybe a TBSP), added 1 c. grated cheddar, mixed well, rolled out into straws and baked. No waste and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Delicious! I always make this pie every Christmas. I don't alter anything in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Natalie
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Great recipe, but you do have to cook the potatoes a bit before putting them in the pie. I diced them into tiny bits but they still came out crunchy with the recipe as is, so definitely boil them for about 10 or so minutes before putting them into the oven!!! Great flavors though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Really great recipes, everyone really enjoyed it! I made it with ground moose since that is what I have and it turned out great :) Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
My family and I are from the south and the spices used in this dish are not common to us what so ever. My husband had a tough time eating it bc the taste was 'weird' to him... but I LOVED IT! I ate the whole pie by myself. I made 2 changes. I used chicken broth instread of boullion and water and I added half a prepared brown gravy mix into it! I also added some finelychopped mixed veggies. my toddler didnt even know there was veggies in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StoreyJeansMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockwall, Texas, USA
Living In: Forney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by xoxo_lina
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I followed other reviewers' suggestions and boiled the potato, carrot and celery. Other than that, I followed the recipe and my boyfriend and I really enjoyed it! I found the mix of spices very unusual but it totally worked! I served with a side of caesar salad and tomato soup. There was a lot of filling leftover after packing a 9" crust. That's okay though - I put the excess in a Ziplock bag in the freezer. It'll be a quick dinner by throwing in some brown rice and serving with a green salad on a side. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xoxo_lina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
My husband looooovves this dish! He is not a picky eater, but does not eat much. I knew this was a hit he helped himself to several servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This was a good recipe. I omitted the potatoes since my Mom and grandmother's recipes didn't have them in them. I doubled the recipe, and baked it in a jelly roll pan. I baked it at 450 degrees F for 15 mins, then lowered the temp to 350 degrees for the remaining 30 mins. It was GONE at Christmas dinner and was asked for the recipe from all who were there! I made it a day ahead, and just reheated it the next day. This recipe lends itself well to that and freezing for a later date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mainamom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Excellent. Great flavour. I've made this more than once and it always turns out. The only change I make is to grate the carrot and potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States