Tourtiere (Meat Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
We loved this. I made it exactly as written, except I only used one crust. I put it in a casserole and topped it with crust. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I thought it was good, but members of my family did not. I changed a few things. Since I didn't have ground pork on hand, I substituted it with turkey breakfast sausage. I also used chicken bullion with spices, instead of plane. I doubled the garlic and added 2 potatos. Overall the yeast was sweet and savory, but my husband didn't care for the sweet spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dinner?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I did not have any ground pork, so I doubled the beef. Also boiled carrots and potatoes separately with some chicken gravy mix and water instead of bouillon... SO GOOD! My husband said it's a keeper! Served with a green salad and fresh sliced tomatoes... YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Great pie, love the smell and flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twofatcats

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Arthur, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
So good, I did spice it up a little. I added 2 tsp cumin and 1/4 tsp allspice. Other reviewers said the potatoe was under cooked I don't think they chopped the potatoe small enough. Dice them just like the carrots and celery and it will turn out lovely! This is my new meat pie, so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This is absolutely the best Tourtiere although I did add 1 tsp Allspice for authenticity. For ease and consistency, I put the potato, celery and carrot through the food processor, chopped very fine. I did as another reviewer suggested - cooked the meat the day before. I used Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust for the pastry - this is the best pastry. And I made the pies into 5" tart size. We had one last night and the rest I've frozen. I was making these for gifts so I 6X the filling recipe and doubled the pastry recipe - got exactly 16 small pies. A tourtiere is different from a regular meat pie. Leave the spices out and that's what you've got - a regular meat pie, not tourtiere. I put the rather dry pastry scraps into the mixer, added a little water (maybe a TBSP), added 1 c. grated cheddar, mixed well, rolled out into straws and baked. No waste and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Delicious! I always make this pie every Christmas. I don't alter anything in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Natalie
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Great recipe, but you do have to cook the potatoes a bit before putting them in the pie. I diced them into tiny bits but they still came out crunchy with the recipe as is, so definitely boil them for about 10 or so minutes before putting them into the oven!!! Great flavors though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Really great recipes, everyone really enjoyed it! I made it with ground moose since that is what I have and it turned out great :) Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
My family and I are from the south and the spices used in this dish are not common to us what so ever. My husband had a tough time eating it bc the taste was 'weird' to him... but I LOVED IT! I ate the whole pie by myself. I made 2 changes. I used chicken broth instread of boullion and water and I added half a prepared brown gravy mix into it! I also added some finelychopped mixed veggies. my toddler didnt even know there was veggies in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StoreyJeansMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockwall, Texas, USA
Living In: Forney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States