Tourtiere (Meat Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This is an excellent recipe. The spices are just wonderful and would be perfect for a Christmas pie (in fact, I plan to make it for my inlaws this Christmas). This time, though, I made it using an empanada maker as little mini-pies to have as appetizers. If you do this, I'd recommend adding the potato at the same time as the other veg along with a little more water and simmering for about 20 minutes ( you want the potato to be firm tender). This is because the bake time on the little pies is only about 20 minutes instead of the full 45, so the potato won't get done in the oven. This quantity of filling will make about 3 - 4 dozen 3.5 inch diameter empanadas. If you reroll the scraps, you can get about a dozen from one 9 in. crust, so you'll need four crusts for the entire batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I don't know what an authentic tourtiere would taste like, but I found the flavor of this recipe to be bland. Otherwise, I did take the advice of other cooks who chopped and parboiled the potatoes and this seemed to work fine. The cooking instructions were fine, just not a great flavor to me. Perhaps adding some Maggi seasoning would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
We loved this. I made it exactly as written, except I only used one crust. I put it in a casserole and topped it with crust. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I thought it was good, but members of my family did not. I changed a few things. Since I didn't have ground pork on hand, I substituted it with turkey breakfast sausage. I also used chicken bullion with spices, instead of plane. I doubled the garlic and added 2 potatos. Overall the yeast was sweet and savory, but my husband didn't care for the sweet spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dinner?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I did not have any ground pork, so I doubled the beef. Also boiled carrots and potatoes separately with some chicken gravy mix and water instead of bouillon... SO GOOD! My husband said it's a keeper! Served with a green salad and fresh sliced tomatoes... YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Great pie, love the smell and flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twofatcats

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Arthur, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
So good, I did spice it up a little. I added 2 tsp cumin and 1/4 tsp allspice. Other reviewers said the potatoe was under cooked I don't think they chopped the potatoe small enough. Dice them just like the carrots and celery and it will turn out lovely! This is my new meat pie, so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This is absolutely the best Tourtiere although I did add 1 tsp Allspice for authenticity. For ease and consistency, I put the potato, celery and carrot through the food processor, chopped very fine. I did as another reviewer suggested - cooked the meat the day before. I used Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust for the pastry - this is the best pastry. And I made the pies into 5" tart size. We had one last night and the rest I've frozen. I was making these for gifts so I 6X the filling recipe and doubled the pastry recipe - got exactly 16 small pies. A tourtiere is different from a regular meat pie. Leave the spices out and that's what you've got - a regular meat pie, not tourtiere. I put the rather dry pastry scraps into the mixer, added a little water (maybe a TBSP), added 1 c. grated cheddar, mixed well, rolled out into straws and baked. No waste and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Delicious! I always make this pie every Christmas. I don't alter anything in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Natalie
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Great recipe, but you do have to cook the potatoes a bit before putting them in the pie. I diced them into tiny bits but they still came out crunchy with the recipe as is, so definitely boil them for about 10 or so minutes before putting them into the oven!!! Great flavors though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States