Tough Buck Barbecue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2002
My husband being a big game hunter would normally fill the freezer every year and my family really enjoys the game meat but the ribs would usually be the last to go. My kids are a little picky when it comes to gaminess. This recipie was a big hit and now is a regular staple. Great idea, the meat is so tender and flavorful you have got to try it. I used a roast last time and you could cut it with a fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
This was excellent. I used venison steaks instead of ribs and cooked them in a dutch oven for 3 hours at 300 degrees. They came out fork tender and shreddable. We ate the leftovers as bbq sandwiches on buns...mmm! This is a keeper in our venison eating home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
Used this for venison that was given to us. Wonderful! Everyone loved it, and we used it like a pot roast, then the next night in tortillas like burritos. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I followed the recipe to a T, cooking times and all and I was not pleased. Sorry but I won't be using this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I used this recipe to do a roast as suggested. I cooked it a good bit longer than the suggested two hours – cooking it until the meat fell apart. I smothered the meat with the sauce and baked at 350 for an hour (only because I was short on time at that point and my venison was so tender already.) Very tasty – I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
very nice recipe,very close to mine. I have found that cooling the meat in fridge before baking helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
Very tender even using the toughest venison. This is my husband's favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I used this as the base of my dinner for a competition and adjusted/added a few things to my tastes...I won first place with this dish. My meat was very lean so I added butter to the water and I added more pepper and chili than the recipe. I also added a 1/4 teaspoon of pure maple syrup to the sauce, 1/3 teaspoon garlic powder extra molasses and mustard. Had three big restaurants in the area at the judges boothes that tried probably 40 or 50 wildgame dishes so I feel like this was a keeper....next time I plan to smoke the meat and smoke the BBQ sauce with the meat in cherry chips...mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan Scandura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I have been using this recipe for years. My husband is a big hunter. I don't change a thing. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
My husband went crazy over this stuff! I used a big roast and just poured the sauce over it in a slow cooker, and cooked it on low for about 6 hours. I then shredded the meat and let it soak in the juices for another hour or so. My husband just spooned the meat into tortillas and gobbled them up. He even had a couple of the meat rolls for breakfast the next morning. This one is definately a keeper! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Moore
Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Barbecue Chicken

Discover a great technique for making perfect barbecue chicken.

Bison Three Ways

Learn three quick and delicious ways to prepare lean bison meat.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States