Tough Buck Barbecue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
Used this for venison that was given to us. Wonderful! Everyone loved it, and we used it like a pot roast, then the next night in tortillas like burritos. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
This was excellent. I used venison steaks instead of ribs and cooked them in a dutch oven for 3 hours at 300 degrees. They came out fork tender and shreddable. We ate the leftovers as bbq sandwiches on buns...mmm! This is a keeper in our venison eating home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
My husband went crazy over this stuff! I used a big roast and just poured the sauce over it in a slow cooker, and cooked it on low for about 6 hours. I then shredded the meat and let it soak in the juices for another hour or so. My husband just spooned the meat into tortillas and gobbled them up. He even had a couple of the meat rolls for breakfast the next morning. This one is definately a keeper! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Moore
Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I have been using this recipe for years. My husband is a big hunter. I don't change a thing. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2002
My husband being a big game hunter would normally fill the freezer every year and my family really enjoys the game meat but the ribs would usually be the last to go. My kids are a little picky when it comes to gaminess. This recipie was a big hit and now is a regular staple. Great idea, the meat is so tender and flavorful you have got to try it. I used a roast last time and you could cut it with a fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
Very tender even using the toughest venison. This is my husband's favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
very nice recipe,very close to mine. I have found that cooling the meat in fridge before baking helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I used this recipe to do a roast as suggested. I cooked it a good bit longer than the suggested two hours – cooking it until the meat fell apart. I smothered the meat with the sauce and baked at 350 for an hour (only because I was short on time at that point and my venison was so tender already.) Very tasty – I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This turned out really good. The only changes I made was the cut of meat; I used a venison roast. Because our meat is tender all I did was put the cut in a pan, covered with foil and cooked at 350 F. for about 1 1/2 hrs. No liquid added. In the meantime, I prepared the sauce. Took the roast out, shredded, poured the sauce over and returned to the oven covered again except for one corner pulled back for another 1/2 hr. Served BBQ sandwiches with coleslaw and it was pretty good. The next day though, oh my, this was absolutely delicious. We had friends over for Superbowl and they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I followed the recipe to a T, cooking times and all and I was not pleased. Sorry but I won't be using this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Barbecue Chicken

Discover a great technique for making perfect barbecue chicken.

Bison Three Ways

Learn three quick and delicious ways to prepare lean bison meat.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States