Touchdown Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
I know some people are hesitant to try recipes that have only been rated by a couple folks, but this one you must try! The combinations of the pepper/hot and the brown sugar, along with the bitterness from the vinegar and beer...there are so many hearty flavors that truly make this delicious. I didn't change a thing! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Chase Simon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I have made this chili numerous times. Each time I have omitted the vinegar. I made it with a wheat beer, a light rice beer, and without beer. It is best with light rice beer or no beer. This chili is delicious and everyone who has tried it loves it. It's hard to find a chili recipe without beans. This one is fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I received a really good chili spice kit for Christmas...My partner doesn't like the beans, but loves chili...Made this recipe a couple days ago...This stuff is REALLY good!!!!! It is GONE, it has fantastic bite/flavor...Can't wait to make it again..I used coarse ground meat from the butcher...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BonAppetitBaby
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Outstanding beanless chili! I ALSO USED GINGER ALE INSTEAD OF BEER!! :-) Made this as is but w/1.25 lb ground turkey, so I cut cooking time and all ingredients in half, except for chili powder which I'm glad I used less of... I recommend no more than 2 heaping tablespoons chili powder per pound, very easy to make your own to your liking- a great base is 1 tsp paprika, 2 tsp cumin, 1 tsp cayenne pepper, 1 tsp oregano, 2 tsp garlic powder per 1 lb meat... Anywho! I did not drain green chiles and glad I didn't :-) Served this topped w/sour cream, colby-jack & chedder cheese, over macaroni & cheese w/a side of cornbread! Thanks SO much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BonAppetitBaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This was easy to make, but I think I would omit the vinegar since the beer gives it enough balance against the brown sugar and spices. I would also add 2 cans of kidney beans, 1 dark/1 red. My family did like this even though the vinegar and beer gave it a definite aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
My husband and I do not like chili (neither of us eat beans, he's not big on spice, and I don't care for a ton of tomatoes), but this was surprsingly wonderful! I subbed a 15oz can of pumpkin puree instead of tomato sauce which added some great flavor and thickend up the chili just a bit. I also used 1 lb of ground beef and 1 lb of pork sausage. I've started making batches just to freeze (in 1-2 serving portions). My husband loves having his new fall favorite at his fingertips and I love having a quick, filling, delicious dinner option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I made this Chili with all ingredients and amounts instructed, only difference I did was cook it in my slow cooker for 4 hours. Was excellent! Thank you for a great beanless recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
The flavor of this chili is outstanding! I doubled the tobasco, 'cuz we like it hot! And it was sooooo good! I didn't drain the green chilies; figured a little more flavor couldn't hurt anything, and it didn't! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
There is another recipe much like this on allrecipes which is WAY more labor intensive. I LOVE this one because it has the same fantastic taste and so much less work! I followed the recipe exactly but learning from the other recipe, I make the chili the day before and store it in the fridge overnight. It somehow melds all the flavors together perfectly! I suggest you make this chili and let it sit for 24 hours before you make any changes in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellidd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Wonderful recipe! I did make a little change though. I used sea salt and ended up doubling the salt, but start with the salt called for then adjust to taste, after an hour of cooking. I also put a bay leaf per 2 pounds of ground beef. I didn't use the beer, but used water in it's place and it was great that way. I also used extra lean ground beef - 93% lean, and I used about a 1/4 cup of Extra Virgin Olive Oil to brown my ground beef, onions and garlic. When you use Olive Oil and extra lean beef you have very little grease to skim when you save the left-overs in the frig! I used Lousiana Hot Sauce for my hot sauce, and it gave it a very nice warm after taste while not blisting you. Of course you can load it up with various hot sauces to turn the heat up, if you like to suffer when you eat chili! Overall, one of, if not the best chili I have eaten, PERIOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States