Touchdown Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
I know some people are hesitant to try recipes that have only been rated by a couple folks, but this one you must try! The combinations of the pepper/hot and the brown sugar, along with the bitterness from the vinegar and beer...there are so many hearty flavors that truly make this delicious. I didn't change a thing! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Chase Simon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I have made this chili numerous times. Each time I have omitted the vinegar. I made it with a wheat beer, a light rice beer, and without beer. It is best with light rice beer or no beer. This chili is delicious and everyone who has tried it loves it. It's hard to find a chili recipe without beans. This one is fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I received a really good chili spice kit for Christmas...My partner doesn't like the beans, but loves chili...Made this recipe a couple days ago...This stuff is REALLY good!!!!! It is GONE, it has fantastic bite/flavor...Can't wait to make it again..I used coarse ground meat from the butcher...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BonAppetitBaby
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Outstanding beanless chili! I ALSO USED GINGER ALE INSTEAD OF BEER!! :-) Made this as is but w/1.25 lb ground turkey, so I cut cooking time and all ingredients in half, except for chili powder which I'm glad I used less of... I recommend no more than 2 heaping tablespoons chili powder per pound, very easy to make your own to your liking- a great base is 1 tsp paprika, 2 tsp cumin, 1 tsp cayenne pepper, 1 tsp oregano, 2 tsp garlic powder per 1 lb meat... Anywho! I did not drain green chiles and glad I didn't :-) Served this topped w/sour cream, colby-jack & chedder cheese, over macaroni & cheese w/a side of cornbread! Thanks SO much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BonAppetitBaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
The flavor of this chili is outstanding! I doubled the tobasco, 'cuz we like it hot! And it was sooooo good! I didn't drain the green chilies; figured a little more flavor couldn't hurt anything, and it didn't! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This was easy to make, but I think I would omit the vinegar since the beer gives it enough balance against the brown sugar and spices. I would also add 2 cans of kidney beans, 1 dark/1 red. My family did like this even though the vinegar and beer gave it a definite aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
My husband and I do not like chili (neither of us eat beans, he's not big on spice, and I don't care for a ton of tomatoes), but this was surprsingly wonderful! I subbed a 15oz can of pumpkin puree instead of tomato sauce which added some great flavor and thickend up the chili just a bit. I also used 1 lb of ground beef and 1 lb of pork sausage. I've started making batches just to freeze (in 1-2 serving portions). My husband loves having his new fall favorite at his fingertips and I love having a quick, filling, delicious dinner option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I made this Chili with all ingredients and amounts instructed, only difference I did was cook it in my slow cooker for 4 hours. Was excellent! Thank you for a great beanless recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
There is another recipe much like this on allrecipes which is WAY more labor intensive. I LOVE this one because it has the same fantastic taste and so much less work! I followed the recipe exactly but learning from the other recipe, I make the chili the day before and store it in the fridge overnight. It somehow melds all the flavors together perfectly! I suggest you make this chili and let it sit for 24 hours before you make any changes in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellidd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This was my first ever attempt at making chili & I must say I thought it was fairly simple to make & quite good! I mostly followed the recipe, with the exception of using 1 lb ground beef & 1 lb ground turkey (with the price of beef rising we've been substituting turkey where we can) & instead of simmering for 3 hours on the stove I put in the crock pot for 4 hours. I served with shredded cheese & Fritos, and made a beer bread for a side. I generally do not eat much chili because I don't like beans, however loved this and will certainly make it again! Hubby (who loves chili w/beans) raved about it too, said "it's got great flavor". I was worried the leftovers would be too spicy to eat (heat always tends to grow once it's been reheated), but that was not the case- just as great later! Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States