Touchdown Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Holy cow! I never made chili before because my husband hates beans. I made this beanless chili last night and it was amazing!! Everyone loved it! I followed the recipe with just two exceptions: I diced one jalapeno (no seeds) and added it when I cooked the meat and onions. I also replaced the one can of tomato sauce (boring!) with one can of the Hunts Manwich Bold & Spicy sloppy joe sauce. This chili was restaurant quality good! I can't wait to have leftovers for dinner tonight!! A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERRYBERRY1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I made this for our Spooky Chili Cookoff at work back in October and I won 1st place and peoples choice award... The chili was wonderful, everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
This chili is amazing! I made it as written the first time and it was a bit too spicy for my kids, so the second time I omitted the chilis and then upped the brown sugar to 4 Tbsp. I browned the hamburger and cooked the onion in a skillet first and then add it and all the rest of the ingredients to a crockpot and cooked on low for at least 4 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORINNE8

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
A major triumph at our house!!! Poured it over some pasta, a little grated cheese, sprinkled some diced jalapenos over the top,...my all time favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake George, New York, USA
Living In: Averill Park, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I tried this recipe for the first time two weeks ago. I have made it twice now and it looks like it will be a staple in this house. Made exactly as written and my husband and dad both love it. The leftovers are put away for snacks and never last long. I make it at least once a week to keep for just that reason. My dad just can't get enough and my husband really enjoys it, too. Good as a fresh recipe, leftovers are better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I had everything I needed (except beer) to make this without a special trip to the store, so decided to make it last night to have the next day. Oh my goodness! It is sooo good! Since I didn't have beer, I added a can of V8 instead. Tried it with some shredded cheddar this morning, but will try it with spaghetti or on a hotdog later. This is definitely a keeper. Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This was a great chili. I was looking for a good chili without beans. I didn't add the tomato and only used half the beer and only 2 tablespoons of brown sugar because 3 made it too sweet for my taste. This was great and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I was surprised how prominent the beer was in this recipe. I thought the beer taste would cook off some; it didn't. I added chili beans as I don't consider chili to be chili without beans. This didn't pack a lot of flavor; and even though the description calls it hearty, I didn't consider this to be as hearty as other chilis. It was okay though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Wonderful recipe! I did make a little change though. I used sea salt and ended up doubling the salt, but start with the salt called for then adjust to taste, after an hour of cooking. I also put a bay leaf per 2 pounds of ground beef. I didn't use the beer, but used water in it's place and it was great that way. I also used extra lean ground beef - 93% lean, and I used about a 1/4 cup of Extra Virgin Olive Oil to brown my ground beef, onions and garlic. When you use Olive Oil and extra lean beef you have very little grease to skim when you save the left-overs in the frig! I used Lousiana Hot Sauce for my hot sauce, and it gave it a very nice warm after taste while not blisting you. Of course you can load it up with various hot sauces to turn the heat up, if you like to suffer when you eat chili! Overall, one of, if not the best chili I have eaten, PERIOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This has become a Sunday staple. Perfect!! for Sunday night football and an enviable "leftovers" lunch during the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mill Creek, Washington, USA
Living In: Roslyn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States