Touchdown Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
This is so delicious. I'm not a bean fan and am always looking for a good beanless recipe. I followed this exactly, and it's just perfect as is. My boyfriend who always has "helpful critiques" on pretty much anything simply stated: "This is the best chili I've ever had." I served it with some corn bread muffins and we had ourselves a great Football Sunday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Urbandale, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Very good. I kept the beer (used Labatt's) and vinegar (cider rather than white) and cooked it in the crockpot on high for 3 hrs. I'm always nervous when cooking with beer but the flavor was nice and tangy - not bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
My Husband had been begging me to make some chili and once I made this recipe he fell in love with it! Very delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Soooo good! This was my first time making chili and this recipe seemed easy which is why I chose it. Plus, I hate the beans normally found in chili. I ventured from the original recipe only slightly: added about a cup of diced green pepper (because I wanted to use it up before it went bad) and added one big can of Bush's Baked Beans and omitted the brown sugar because it is already in the baked beans. Because I wanted to put this in my slow cooker, I took the suggestion of another reviewer and used tomato paste instead of the tomato sauce. I browned the meat together with the onion, green pepper and garlic, drained then added to my slow cooker with all the other ingredients. Its been simmering now for about 2 hours and it already smells and tastes delishicious! I will serve with oyster crackers, shredded cheese and a dollop of sour cream as well as some corn bread. I'm not sure we are going to have the will power to wait 5 more hours for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikkehla

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oakfield, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I made this chili twice both times a hit. Two suggestions. If you are going to do it in the slow cooker use tomato paste instead of sauce (too much liquid) and I thought it was a bit sweet. The second time I made it I started at 1tbsp. and taste tested it from there. Also I left out the hot sauce because my kids, 1yr and 2yrs, don't like hot food. Awesome, yummy and filling ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
really liked this chile, but I used a little BBQ sauce instead of brown sugar.. I also added red potatoes to my chile... but I will TOTALLY be using this recipe from now on! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adeland
Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Excellent. Over the last year, I've been teaching myself to cook using recipes on allrecipes. This is the first time I've wanted to rate and review. I followed the directions exactly. The result was terrific. For the beer, I chose a quality pale ale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This was my first ever attempt at making chili & I must say I thought it was fairly simple to make & quite good! I mostly followed the recipe, with the exception of using 1 lb ground beef & 1 lb ground turkey (with the price of beef rising we've been substituting turkey where we can) & instead of simmering for 3 hours on the stove I put in the crock pot for 4 hours. I served with shredded cheese & Fritos, and made a beer bread for a side. I generally do not eat much chili because I don't like beans, however loved this and will certainly make it again! Hubby (who loves chili w/beans) raved about it too, said "it's got great flavor". I was worried the leftovers would be too spicy to eat (heat always tends to grow once it's been reheated), but that was not the case- just as great later! Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I liked it. Next time I make it I will leave out the vinegar and use only 2 tbsp of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salina, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States