Touchdown Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I won a chili cook off with this recipe! The only substitution I made was using fire roasted tomatoes.l for a smokier flavor. This is always I big hit with everyone. Easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I agree with other reviewers: the beer taste is far too prominent in this dish. I wish I had left out the beer or substituted ginger ale as BonAppetitBaby did. If I make this dish again, I will leave out the beer for certain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ava Flavah!

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I have to admit, I was pretty nervous about trying this one...the reviews were kind of all over the place. Some loved it "as is" others thought the beer and the vinegar were too much. Plus I was bummed out that very few of the reviewers commented on which beer they chose to use. In the end I chose this recipe because the list of ingredients was interesting and I was looking for something different. I'm glad I took a chance. And just so you know, I used a can of PBR (I figured a mild beer wouldn't over power the chili, like other reviewers mentioned they had run into). Also like other reviewers mentioned I threw it into the crock pot after browning the beef and adding seasonings. I kept it going for about 5 hours on low. The only changes I made were using ground turkey instead of beef and I added 1 can of pinto beans and 1 can of canellini beans. Other than that I followed the recipe. I will definitely make this again. **I just finished my second helping and wanted to add that the beer flavor does kind of linger in your mouth a bit. I think next time I will try a better beer, still mild but step it up a notch. If it's going to linger it may as well be one I like ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Holy cow! I never made chili before because my husband hates beans. I made this beanless chili last night and it was amazing!! Everyone loved it! I followed the recipe with just two exceptions: I diced one jalapeno (no seeds) and added it when I cooked the meat and onions. I also replaced the one can of tomato sauce (boring!) with one can of the Hunts Manwich Bold & Spicy sloppy joe sauce. This chili was restaurant quality good! I can't wait to have leftovers for dinner tonight!! A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERRYBERRY1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I made this for our Spooky Chili Cookoff at work back in October and I won 1st place and peoples choice award... The chili was wonderful, everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
This chili is amazing! I made it as written the first time and it was a bit too spicy for my kids, so the second time I omitted the chilis and then upped the brown sugar to 4 Tbsp. I browned the hamburger and cooked the onion in a skillet first and then add it and all the rest of the ingredients to a crockpot and cooked on low for at least 4 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORINNE8

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
A major triumph at our house!!! Poured it over some pasta, a little grated cheese, sprinkled some diced jalapenos over the top,...my all time favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake George, New York, USA
Living In: Averill Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I tried this recipe for the first time two weeks ago. I have made it twice now and it looks like it will be a staple in this house. Made exactly as written and my husband and dad both love it. The leftovers are put away for snacks and never last long. I make it at least once a week to keep for just that reason. My dad just can't get enough and my husband really enjoys it, too. Good as a fresh recipe, leftovers are better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I had everything I needed (except beer) to make this without a special trip to the store, so decided to make it last night to have the next day. Oh my goodness! It is sooo good! Since I didn't have beer, I added a can of V8 instead. Tried it with some shredded cheddar this morning, but will try it with spaghetti or on a hotdog later. This is definitely a keeper. Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This was a great chili. I was looking for a good chili without beans. I didn't add the tomato and only used half the beer and only 2 tablespoons of brown sugar because 3 made it too sweet for my taste. This was great and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States