Touchdown Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I was skeptical but this recipe went over well so it's a keeper! I didn't add the vinegar or the brown sugar either as we prefer more savory than sweet. The kids especially like it because it is not too spicy for kids and it doesn't have beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
We left out the chiles because I honestly never buy them ... our kids don't care for added spiciness. We sadly have a bean allergy in the family so I need a beanless chili recipe on hand. This one is very yummy. I did substitute pork broth for the beer, and might take the chili powder down to 1/4c next time. Thanks for the recipe - a good one is hard to find without beans as an ingredient!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I tried this recipe but dabbled with it myself and omitted the tobacco sauce and green chiles, but added (to the frying meat) mushrooms, bell pepper, and sweet red pepper. I then added to the soup half a can of rotell tomatoes. Was GREAT for me, but family said the brown sugar made it a bit too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
My hubby loves this! My changes: 1# ground beef, 1# ground pork; no vinegar; 1 bay leaf; 1 can Bush's chili beans (hubby's request). BTW, I haven't told him the 'secret ingredient' is beer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I cooked it exactly like the recipe except that I didn't let it simmer for 3 hours. I'm sure it would have been even better if I had. I have been looking for a flavorful chili recipe for awhile and love this one. I have gotten several compliments on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
This is a great recipe for bean-less chili! I made it as written except used beef broth instead of beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Everyone has a different idea of chili depending on wher you were raised... For me (a Midwest girl), I did not care for this at all. That's not to say its a terrible recipe, so 3 stars. My husband (Texas) also didn't like it very well. I followed the directions. I agree with the mass majority of reviewers that the vinegar AND beer should be omitted. I only used a small Belgian lite wheat beer due to the reviews... Anyway, not every recipe is a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I wasn't looking for a beanless recipe but I came across this one and it sounded like it would be flavourful and it certainly was. I changed nothing except I added kidney beans :) It was perfect and it got rave reviews on my ice fishing trip!!! Thanks for sharing...I'm sure this one will become a family fave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Fixed this for a Seahawks/Broncos Superbowl party today. Yikes! Way too sweet! I'm trying to cook wheat free for the hubby, so used ginger ale like others had posted. That on top of the brown sugar was way too sweet! I must have added an extra 3-4 ounces of vinegar to counter it! If I make this again, I'll sacrifice the wheat and use beer... and way less brown sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Does anyone else think that 1/3 C of Chili Powder is ENTIRELY too much? My husband (who prides himself on loving spicy food) could not even eat it - much less myself. I had to add more diced tomatoes, another bottle of bear, a pound of meat plus two cans of tomato paste to even make this close to edible. It tastes great after you tone it down and I'm happy it's beanless but WHOA BABY on the chili powder AND pepper AND onion AND tabasco!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States