Touch of Spring Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
We made the muffins just as the recipe said and they turned out wonderfully. Thank you very much for sharing your Touch of Spring recipe, the kids loved it. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I made this exactly like the recipe says and my whole family loved them. I did not have any problems with the middle being "gooey" or "batter like" they turned out perfect. Making another batch tonight!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Rae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
This muffin raised nicely. The best looking muffin I have ever made. Followed recipe and used turbinado sugar on top for a super crunch. Felt like a nice spring muffin, tasted wonderful with straw/rhub. Mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Loved these! The taste and texture is similar to a scone, which I prefer - as another reviewer said, this is NOT cake disguised as a muffin. I made two very slight changes: I used whole wheat white flour and upped the strawberries (finely chopped) to about 2/3 cup. These were easy to make, delicious without being too sweet and dessert-like, and you should make them right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Very good basic recipe! I did 2 thing differently though: added a little vanilla and cinnamon and also diced everything rather fine to help with gooey spots in the finished muffins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Good texture and not a ton of sugar, but really lacking flavor overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
delightfuly delicious. Dice the rhubarb and strawberries into very small pieces, and you won't have any problem with soggy spots in the middle. I love the tangy taste of rhubarb, so will increase the rhubarb to 3/4 C next time. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This is a great strawberry rhubarb muffin recipe! It is exactly what I was looking for with a bumper crop of rhubarb. I agree with the last reviewer that the strawberries and the rhubarb must be chopped (I do 1/4" pieces). The texture is perfect and they taste great warmed up, plain or with a little rhubarb jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I loved this muffin for so many reasons. It's pretty, tart and not too sweet, just like you'd expect "Grandma" would have made. It's not very sweet because it's not meant to be - this is an old-fashioned muffin (not a little cake posing as one) and is light, fluffy, and almost downright dainty! With no distracting spices, the flavors of both the strawberries and rhubarb shine and so there's a wonderful freshness about them. They really are a "touch of spring" muffin! Great on their own, or with a dab of butter or lemon curd. With only two reviewers before me with opposite views on this muffin, I have to say with all due respect to "fizzyginger" that pehaps it was not the muffin that went wrong but her technique. There is nothing that even remotely resembles uncooked batter in this muffin. Rather than slice the strawberries I chopped them and perhaps that's where the difference lies. I sprinkled them with sparkling sugar which gave them just the slightest delightful crunch and topping them with a strawberry half was a pretty touch, even tho' they kind of dried out during baking. This will be a recipe I hang on to, especially when I'm in need of that "touch of spring."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Strawberries are a very wet fruit and in a light muffin like this one, they made wet globby spots with a texture similar to unkcooked batter. I had several people sample these and all agreed that the flavor was ok, but the texture was not good. If I make these again, I will use only rhubarb (chopped small to avoid huge globs) and serve them with strawberry jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States