Totally Tangy Baked French Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
These are very good. Have a nice tangy bite to them. Almost too spicy for me, actually, so I may cut some of the cayenne next time. I didn't really measure, just tossed the ingredients in. They don't end up crisp in the times written--probably need longer in the oven in order to crisp up. I used red potatoes, so my fries were smaller, and I left the skins on. Thanks for sharing--great base spicy fry recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
Very good added some pepper jack cheese on top for the last few minutes and dipped in ranch dressing, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tynie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristi
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Delicious! The flavor was great! The only thing that didn't impress me was the crispness, or lack thereof... My fries were limp, which isn't cool in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
I made these and they are very good. I would cut down on the caynene pepper next time. Personal prefernce. Perfect for my husband. I had some sause left over because I made it for just one. Put on chicken breasts and put in foil and baked along with the fries. Great very good dinner. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
5 Star recipe - I used an extra tbsp of lime juice and 1/2 tsp cayenne - nice and hot the way we like it. Very nice flavor - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
These were fantastic, my husband made me make more of them two more times that day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
These so-called fries were not cooked all the way through, even though I added more time to the recipe, and the seasonings were anything but "tangy". I was so excited to try this recipe - what a let-down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
These were good but I didn't get any "wows" from my guests. I followed the recipe exactly except that I let the potatoes marinate in the sauce overnight. I sprinkled salt when they came out of the oven to bring out the flavor, which was not very strong in my opinion. My guests and I didn't find them very high in spice/flavor so we dipped them in a spicy BBQ sauce which was fine. I will try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
Excellent! Really spicy and delicious. The only thing I did differently was to use Charlotte potatoes (lower GI) and cut them into wedges. Then I boiled them for about 10 minutes BEFORE baking them. They were crisp outside and creamy inside. YUM! If you don't like really hot stuff, you might cut the cayenne in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shealuna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
These potatoes were very tasty with a nice zippy flavor. Good combination of tang/heat. I opmitted the cayene pepper for the rest of my families perference. Also used it on grilled pork chops that I was preparing at the same time and that was also excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woxall, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States