Totally Tangy Baked French Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
These were really good. I found if you crinkle the foil, there is no need to flip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
Excellent! Really spicy and delicious. The only thing I did differently was to use Charlotte potatoes (lower GI) and cut them into wedges. Then I boiled them for about 10 minutes BEFORE baking them. They were crisp outside and creamy inside. YUM! If you don't like really hot stuff, you might cut the cayenne in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shealuna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
if you bake them on stoneware they get crispy. it still takes a little extra time, but no broiling is needed. if you haven't tried stoneware yet you should. definately my best kitchen investment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hermiston, Oregon, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
These were wicked spicy. I would probably make these again with a little less cayene. They also need to be cooked way long or at a higher temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Wow! These are "Totally Tangy" and absolutely delicious baked french fries with a Southwestern flair! This is a really nice combination of flavors and a great way to perk up french fries so if you like things spicy with a bit of a kick then this recipe is for you. I upped the oven temp. to 425 and lined a baking sheet with Reynolds non-stick foil. Just bake until nice and crispy then enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
My husband and I really liked these. I put in a whole tsp of the red pepper flakes and almost 2 tsp of chili powder. I didn't have any brown spicy mustard so I just added 1 T of regular yellow mustard. They turned out really yummy, and spicy. We dipped ours in ranch dressing and they were great. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
Good recipe. I used frozen steak fries and brushed the oil and spices on before baking. Nice "tangy" flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAPATTEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
These were really good. They are spicy so if you don't like it spicy reduce the cayenne pepper to half. My family loved them. I kept the peeling on because we like them better that way. Used cooking spray (not a part of the recipe) on the potatoe slices before coating them, but after looking up the true calories and fat in cooking spray and all the other horrible stuff that in it, next time will not use. Google how much fat is in cooking spray, and you will stay clear of it. They can get away with how much fat and calories is really in cooking spray by making the serving size 1/3 of a second spray which is less than a gram and incrediably unrealistic, so they can say zero calories and fat. Has about the same fat content as olive oil, which is healthier with Omega 3's and doesn't have all the chemicals thats in cooking spray. Was a real enlightening bit of info for me. Hope this helps others who really care about what goes into their bodies. Anyways thanks you amanda1432 for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
These are very good. Have a nice tangy bite to them. Almost too spicy for me, actually, so I may cut some of the cayenne next time. I didn't really measure, just tossed the ingredients in. They don't end up crisp in the times written--probably need longer in the oven in order to crisp up. I used red potatoes, so my fries were smaller, and I left the skins on. Thanks for sharing--great base spicy fry recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Great recipe. I like my potatoes crispy so I would cook at least another 15 minutes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States