Totally Tangy Baked French Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
These were good and spicy, just the way we like them. I would make this version of fries again. I left the skins on and we also dipped them in ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I use Cajun seasoning,along with cayenne pepper chili powder paprika ground black pepper I don't use the mustard it taste better without mustard in my opinion I also use garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francesca Melio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Made EXACTLY as recipe stated. Loved the baking method, the texture. However, the fries were way too hot (spicy) for me. I will use this recipe again and omit the red pepper flakes and use just a touch of the cayenne. (I don't think children could handle eating these - my mouth is still burning. It isn't just the cayenne. Red Pepper Flakes are HOT!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by majo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ranburne, Alabama, USA
Living In: Riverside, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
The flavor was really good. My son of said he could taste the lime. I followed the recipe exactly and when the time was up they were still wet and soft. I raised the oven to 450 and baked them for another 15 minutes. They were better but still soft. I probably will not try again. If I do, I'll make my own adjustments. maybe too much oil with the mustard and lime juice. Debbie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mercer, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Your recipe made me eat too many! Haha! These are GREAT! I even cooked it without the salt. I did take the suggestions from others and lightened up on the cayenne. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Tried this today. Used 1/4 of the spices ( just a sprinkle actually). Baked in 25 min. Tasty. Will be on my regular menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I did not have garlic cloves on hand, so used garlic powder, also used onion powder. Pretty much – then I followed directions. Even though my husband does not like 'skins' he had more than one serving . . . so next time I'll cut these in a way he can have 'skinless' and I'll eat the strips with skins! I did soak the potatoes in water about 45 minutes to break down starches. My husband likes traditional yellow mustard SO that is what I used. It seems a little more lime juice would be my preference. Next time I will boil potatoes a little before coating in sauce. I put the ingredients in a plastic bag then coated the potatoes in the bag . . . Hmmmmmm - boiling these I'll have to let them cool before coating in a bag. It seems baking took a little longer, but I did have one big potato, enough for two people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conqueress

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Excellent recipe. Instead of the lime juice I substituted with Apple cider vinegar. I also let the fries marinate for about 30 minutes before cooking. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
These have very good flavor and we loved them with our dinner tonight. I followed the recipe other than I baked them on a rack over a sheet pan which eliminated needing to flip them which makes them even easier. My kids love oven baked wedges and this will be on of our regulars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
This recipe was surprisingly great! I soaked my cut potatoes in water for about an hour before I dressed them with the sauce. The water helps to break down the starches and they cook faster and easier. I too cut back on the cayenne, and also added garlic powder, onion powder, and parsley leaves. I cooked it for the given time for the first round, before flipping, and they were not coming along well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States