Totally Tangy Baked French Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
These were very greasy and never became crispy, even after cooking longer. I eventually had to fry them, which is what I was trying to avoid. I gave it 2 stars because I think the spice mix is tasty, but do recommend reducing the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Very yummy and very spicy - need to eat with ranch to cool them down a bit. We sometimes make these using greek seasoning instead of the chilli powder and cayenne and I like those even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Wow! These are "Totally Tangy" and absolutely delicious baked french fries with a Southwestern flair! This is a really nice combination of flavors and a great way to perk up french fries so if you like things spicy with a bit of a kick then this recipe is for you. I upped the oven temp. to 425 and lined a baking sheet with Reynolds non-stick foil. Just bake until nice and crispy then enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I can't believe how wonderful these fries were! Omitted the crushed red pepper because I have little ones and used Dijan as that was all that I had. Tasted the sauce prior to tossing potatoes and I was horrified as it tasted like salty vinegar but after they came out of the oven I fell in love with these potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Made these for dinner tonight---the fries vanished, but the compliments were abundant! Thanks for a great new alternative to "plain old fries". I made the recipe exactly as written and it was perfect. I can handle a handle a little spice, but nothing too hot, so I was really making them for my husband who is of "the spicier the better" philosophy". I found them to be flavorful with just the right amount of spice and my teenage children kept telling me they "Loved, loved, loved them". I probably could have upped the cayenne and red pepper in a batch for my husband, but he said these had a great flavor as is. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willoughby, Ohio, USA
Living In: Camden, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
The fries were okay. I didn't think they were very flavorful. I don't know if I didn't get the spices distributed evenly or if I just needed to add more spices. I guess I'll have to try the recipe again to see where the problem lies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swtbby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
These were really good. They are spicy so if you don't like it spicy reduce the cayenne pepper to half. My family loved them. I kept the peeling on because we like them better that way. Used cooking spray (not a part of the recipe) on the potatoe slices before coating them, but after looking up the true calories and fat in cooking spray and all the other horrible stuff that in it, next time will not use. Google how much fat is in cooking spray, and you will stay clear of it. They can get away with how much fat and calories is really in cooking spray by making the serving size 1/3 of a second spray which is less than a gram and incrediably unrealistic, so they can say zero calories and fat. Has about the same fat content as olive oil, which is healthier with Omega 3's and doesn't have all the chemicals thats in cooking spray. Was a real enlightening bit of info for me. Hope this helps others who really care about what goes into their bodies. Anyways thanks you amanda1432 for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
They turned out ok, but I didn't like the taste of the sauce very much. I baked them for 10 more minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Very good! Melted sharp cheddar cheese over them and served with ranch dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Made these per original recipe...FABULOUS!! Did use previous reviewer's tip & turned on broiler for last few minutes. Served with Valerie's Special Sauce from this site...absolutely yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFWife88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States