Totally Groovy Chocolate Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
I found this recipe to be a good base for "chocolate fondue with liqueur." I followed others advice- 6 Tbsp. heavy cream & 4 tbsp. of liqueur. I was surprised how easy it really was to do. I made one pot with cherry brandy, one with mint liqueur and one with Irish cream. Couldn’t taste the cinnamon at all so I don’t even know if it is necessary. All 3 fondues received rave reviews and the chocolate kept its consistency nicely within the pots over a low tea light. For dipping- mini cheesecakes, angel food cake squares, potato chips, pretzels, graham cracker sticks, strawberries, bananas, Granny Smith apples, pineapple & dried apricots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
This is a very good fondue, but I do agree with the other reviews. You must at least double the amount of heavy cream, and add more liquor of your choice. We enjoyed this fondue and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
We burned the first two batches, and it seemed that we didn't have enough liquid. Then we added more creme and kahlua and it smoothed out perfectly, and tasted great. For people who are trying this for the first time, if it starts to clump add mas liquids pronto...otherwise pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEE-MEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
I made this for my husband last year as a Valentine's Day surprise (after a delicious dinner which was made entirely from recipes on allrecipes.com), and it was a smash hit! We don't use alcohol in our house, so insead of cherry brandy, I used the juice from the jar of maraschino cherries that I bought as one of the things to dip in the fondue. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
I made this for a party of fifty and it was super. I used Kahlua instead of brandy, but it was yummy and worked perfectly. I did add some cream, and kahlua as the evening wore on...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
Very quick and simple to make, and quite tasty. I also had to add extra cream and liquor. I suspect a crockery pot and a low flame would be best for this fondue - I had to watch the metal pot like a hawk. We dipped pound cake, angel food cake and bananas - yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
All I can say is Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!! This was great! I added coffee liqueur instead of the coffee, Baileys instead of Cherry brandy and a little more cream to help smooth it out. If you can't find milk chocolate chips(my grocery store was out)just buy a milk chocolate bar and chop it to make 2 cups. Angel food cake, strawberries and banana were our favourites for dipping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I was looking for a chocolate fondue recipe for a kids sleepover party and this was just great. Easy to make, great flavor and all the kids had fun dipping. I halved the recipe and still had a cup left over - it's rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNIEMILANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
Served this at a couples' bridal shower and it went over great! It was delicious!! We used Kahlua instead of cheery brandy. I gave it a low easiness rating because it had to be watered down (with Kahlua and more cream) at intervals throughout the party. It also burns easily if the flame is not regularly attended to- although I am willing to blame that on my fondue pot.. Overall- it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2001
I used a little Bailey's Irish Cream rather than cherry brandy and it was scrumptious. The entire pot of fondue disappeared in no time at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States