Tostones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Alaena39
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This is very similar to the steps I take to make my own tostones, even though my family is Cuban. I believe the steps do need a little tweaking because as is I think you could burn the tostones. Ok, if your tostones are not fully submerged in oil, fry for 2-3 minutes on one side then flip to submerge the other half. You can also use a Fry Daddy and have it all submerged for 3 minutes. ONCE THEY COOL OFF, THEN you mash them with something with a flat bottom. A mug or a cup will do nicely. Make sure they're cool or it might come out mushy. I hate to go against tradition but my tostonera is going to waste because it provides a sideways mashing ability and the tostones come out lopsided. For tostones, also make sure your plaintain is green. If its got more yellow than green, it might be too soft for this and is best to be held off for platanos maduros once they darken. Lastly, I know this may sound weird however, I'd say skip the garlic powder and go with real minced garlic from a jar. Pour it on the tostones with some juice. Yes, its raw but the plantain kills its pungency and all you taste is yummy goodness. Salt to taste (light sprinkle will do) and you've got a wonderful side dish on your hands!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
You can also use the bottom of a can (like a can of beans, or corn) to smash the tostones. Do not let them get brown. Tostones should look golden in color not brown. I like to sprinkle garlic salt on them as soon as they come out of the oil. Another fabulous but easy dipping sauce for tostones is mayoketchup. Mayo and Ketchup on a 1:1 ratio (equal amounts), one clove of garlic pressed for each 1/4-1/2 cup of mix, stir, refrigerate about 30 minutes to let flavors come together... VOILA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Also be sure to add Adobo! It adds a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purocks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
A.Maz.Ing! Made these tostones alongside grilled Jerk chicken and coconut rice, and it brought a little beachy-flair to our dinner table on an otherwise rainy night in Georgia. I followed the recipe, except I used 2 plantains to 1/4 c. veg oil. I smooshed them b/t pieces of wax paper, using a coffee cup. Sprinkled them w/ Adobo w/ Pepper, and these savory treats were gobbled off our plates in record time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Very simple, yet tasty. Tastes much better homemade than the platanos in the bag! My inlaws from Honduras also make tostones...thanks for the reminder to make some soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andrea92fl
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
SOOOO GOOD. 10x better than french fries!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
these were very good, served with a roasted veggie and tomatillo salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
The husband liked these but I didn't love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Fantastic! The only thing I've ever made that my brother has actually eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
instead of a tostonera or can, I use the plantain skin to smash them. When removing the skin, make one long incision and remove plantain, then, after initial fry, put the piece back in the skin & smash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Puerto Rican Appetizers: Tostones Rellenos

What's cooking in St. Louis? Four delicious appetizers.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States