Tostones (Fried Plantains) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I had these years ago in Costa Rica with a spicy black bean spread. I was able to replicate the experience almost exactly with this recipe! It was so easy and delicious it was almost criminal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Yum-o- licious I really enjoyed this! I soaked them 30 minutes and patted them dry before frying. Instead of using wax paper I just used paper towels and flattened them a little using a plate with a paper towel between them and the plate. I salted lightly and cobbled them up before the rest of my family could get them. I'm sooo wrong!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebeqah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Wonderful, but I would suggest cooking them a bit longer during the first go round so they aren't too raw and crumbly when you smash them. Other than that, they were very similar to what I had in Ecuador. Amazing, even w/o the garlic powder and salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I used green plantains, which I understood to be the correct ones for tostones and they were so goooood! I used a some garlic in the oil and seasoned with salt. I never had one before and I can't wait to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
First of all, these are not tostones, these are platanos fritos. The difference is tostones are green plantains that are fried and smashed and then refried again, sprinkle some adobo on it and fua!!! Fried plantains are when they are yellow, soft and sweet. You frie them from side to side and they stay soft, eat it sprinkled with cinammon or even as is and you have a side dish good for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
oh my gosh, 2 cups of oil for 3 plantains?Lordy. Anyhow I made with less grease using Saflower oil and they are good .Plantains are anything but bland, people .You just need to sprinkle salt when they first come out pan. Garlic butter sauce makes great dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovelymeal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This is a perfect treat served with cream cheese! For the sweetest (best) flavor, your plantains should be completely ripe - skin should be black!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Yum! Simple and easy but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
These are soooooo good! They WILL be greasy but that's why you pat them with paper towels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frida Loves

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I'm sure my techniques need some work, since this is an unfamiliar dish to me, but I personally found these greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Alice Springs, Northern Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States