Tostones (Fried Plantains) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
This is a very easy and delicious recipe. I had a plantain which was very ripe with skin that was a dark brown color. According to a previous reviewer, the ripeness of my plantain made this a Plantanos recipe. I used 1 tablespoon of oil for 1 plantain and may try less oil or cooking spray to make this recipe healthier. After pan frying on each side for 3-5 minites, until golden brown. Then I sprinkled a little mixture of sugar and cinnamon on the fried plantains and they disappeared in less than 3 minutes. My husband and I thought these were delicious, will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eila

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Yum! These were delicious sprinkled with kosher salt, garlic powder and paprika. Made a good sauce of ketchup/mayo/lime juice to dip, muy delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Excellent! Best with lime juice, salt, and garlic powder sprinkled on top after they're cooked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Recipe worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
LOVE these. My boyfriend taught me to make them. We use a shot glass to flatten/smash them. When they are done we sprinkle with salt, and serve with minced garlic mixed with a little olive oil. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I prepare mines just as recipe instruction and it turn out great, with 1 exception,half ripe plantains instead of completely green
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monifa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
i had 2 long plantains & for i used probably 1/3 cup of veg oil altogether. my intention was not to "fry" them per se. so im aware of the difference in taste & texture! however, my pan sautee worked out great! i just covered the pan in veg oil & followed the rest of the instructions! delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belindalnv

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosemead, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
My husband was very curious about the plantains, but did not care for them. While I personally did not love them, I thought I would give the recipe 5 stars as it was super easy to follow, and the end result was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by biawest

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
absolutely excellent: ...to make them like our local family owned restaurant...spiced with cumin, garlic powder and salt...used a hamburger press to get the flat chip shape...now a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra-Matris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I first had tostones in New York out of a food car and I LOVE these things!!! They are so good. We aways eat ours with ketchup, kind of like fries. Dfinitely something for everyone to try. Remember when making these to use the GREEN (unripe) plantains.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States