Tostones (Fried Plantains) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Very easy to make. Delicious to dip in a cuban garlic sauce. I guess you can basically have with whatever sauce you like. They do burn easily, so watch them carefully! Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
These were outstanding! Soooo delicious!! My husband helped make these (he's a Tostone expert). We topped them with the garlic powder and coarse sea salt. Served them with Brazilian Chicken with Coconut Milk from this site...that was yummy too, but these were definitely the best part of the meal! Try these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
My uncle is from Columbia and used to make these for us. But, he served them sweet. They were really yummy like this, though. Served them with black beans and rice. Definitely use the ketchup with garlic in it for dipping--I am looking forward to having this dish again tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keene, Texas, USA
Living In: Clifton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
My mother makes this receipe once a month. The "dip" we use is ketchup and mayonnaise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
These were delicious!!!! Irresistible! I scaled this down to 2 servings because i only had one plantain, which had just turned yellow.It's best to use a ripe plantain because the green ones will be bland. When they were finished, i also sprinkled some paprika on them. They were so delicious, i ate 6 of them before i knew it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2Yung2Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
Mmmm! These are great! A Puerto Rican friend of mine taught me how to make a dipping sauce (consisting of crushed garlic and ketchup) to go along with these! They're still great plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
Just remember... for tostones plantains need to be very green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
these taste just like the ones I had at cuban restaurant. I served these with the mojo marinade for "grilled mojo chicken with asparagus" on this site. The mojo makes a great dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Weymouth Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
Wonderful! I made a sauce with ketsup, mayo, lemon juice and garlic powder to dip them in. I served it with a spicy black beans and rice dish recipe I got from a friend. My husband couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aphrodite Sauser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
I had no idea plantains were so good...my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our meal with the plantains as an accompaniment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States