Tostones (Fried Plantains) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
absolutely excellent: ...to make them like our local family owned restaurant...spiced with cumin, garlic powder and salt...used a hamburger press to get the flat chip shape...now a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra-Matris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I first had tostones in New York out of a food car and I LOVE these things!!! They are so good. We aways eat ours with ketchup, kind of like fries. Dfinitely something for everyone to try. Remember when making these to use the GREEN (unripe) plantains.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desert Daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I made these for the 1st time and LOVED them!! I made exactly as stated except I didn't have any garlic powder so I added some fresh garlic to the oil as it heated. I served them with warm chocolate syrup as a dessert and they were fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nemunoz
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I prefer my Tostones sweet, so I used yellow plantains. I did not have waxed paper so I used a freezer bag and a flat bottom measuring cup to smash the plantains after the initial frying. The Tostones came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nemunoz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
These were great! Growing up near Miami, Fl., I had both tostones and platanos. Love them both. And this recipe is truly an authentic one. Make the tostones as a side to a dish. The platanos are definitely more of a dessert because of the sweetness. I'm making tostones tonight because I can't wait for the 3 or 4 days for them to ripen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I have to get better at this. I think my plantains were under ripe. I cooked as directed but they were still a bit stiff and well, not that tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RandySweet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victoria Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I fried them just like the recipe and they were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
These are pretty easy and quite yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BunnyzBebaH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I served them with spicy Mojo pork tenderloins and they were delicious. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reese Sherman

Displaying results 21-30 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States