Tostones (Fried Plantains) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Thank you! I am white and my husband is Dominican. I wanted to surprise him with a little taste of home and this recipe was a life saver! Easy and delicious. Cannot thank you enough :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
This is a very easy and delicious recipe. I had a plantain which was very ripe with skin that was a dark brown color. According to a previous reviewer, the ripeness of my plantain made this a Plantanos recipe. I used 1 tablespoon of oil for 1 plantain and may try less oil or cooking spray to make this recipe healthier. After pan frying on each side for 3-5 minites, until golden brown. Then I sprinkled a little mixture of sugar and cinnamon on the fried plantains and they disappeared in less than 3 minutes. My husband and I thought these were delicious, will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eila

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Yum! These were delicious sprinkled with kosher salt, garlic powder and paprika. Made a good sauce of ketchup/mayo/lime juice to dip, muy delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Excellent! Best with lime juice, salt, and garlic powder sprinkled on top after they're cooked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Recipe worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
LOVE these. My boyfriend taught me to make them. We use a shot glass to flatten/smash them. When they are done we sprinkle with salt, and serve with minced garlic mixed with a little olive oil. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I prepare mines just as recipe instruction and it turn out great, with 1 exception,half ripe plantains instead of completely green
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monifa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
i had 2 long plantains & for i used probably 1/3 cup of veg oil altogether. my intention was not to "fry" them per se. so im aware of the difference in taste & texture! however, my pan sautee worked out great! i just covered the pan in veg oil & followed the rest of the instructions! delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belindalnv

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosemead, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
My husband was very curious about the plantains, but did not care for them. While I personally did not love them, I thought I would give the recipe 5 stars as it was super easy to follow, and the end result was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bianca West

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
absolutely excellent: ...to make them like our local family owned restaurant...spiced with cumin, garlic powder and salt...used a hamburger press to get the flat chip shape...now a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra-Matris

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States