Tossed Romaine and Orange Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Got compliments on the almonds. I cut back by half the amount of mandarin oranges. This would make a nice lunch salad if you added chicken. Delicious salad, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Decent, easy, and healthy, though somewhat boring. Added feta which rounded out the flavor and gave it a little more interest. Would make again if I needed to do something fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathertup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Light, refreshing, not a heavy dressing. Doesn't stick to the lettuce but that's ok. I think it's perfect with a heavy meal because of the lightness. We had beef stew and I served this and thought it balanced nicely with the stew. I also did not think it was too tart. I guess if one wanted to thicken it up a bit, that would help it cling better but I really don't think I would. Salad needs to be eaten soon after the dressing is poured over the salad and toss quickly and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Great salad! I cut back on the number of servings and added a bit of garlic and dijon mustard to the dressing. I added sliced some thin sliced red onion and some leftover citrus grilled chicken. This was very light and perfect for a quick lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Great salad -- light and refreshing tho I only used about 1/4 of the dressing. Was a big hit for Thanksgiving. I added 1 can of hearts of palm which was a nice compliment. Also used mandarin oranges packed in water. I think a good add would be some herb to give the dressing a bit more kick, but don't know what that would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
The dressing was good but came out a little thin. I had a hard time getting it to stick to the lettuce. I also like a little more bite so added more red wine vinegar. Overall a good recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I made the dressing exactly how the recipe says too, but found the flavor to be much to vinegary. Let's say way too vinegary. Bc of that, I tweaked the recipe by adding about a tablespoon of sugar and half the juice from the mandarin orange can. With that change it was much sweeter, yet still a vinaigrette! Yum yum! My husband liked it with grilled, sliced chicken over his and said he'd definitely eat it again. Maybe next time more fruit--strawberries? Blueberries? Pineapple? Might give it that extra punch it needs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Yum-E! I threw in some left over grilled salmon and some thinly sliced onion and celery and it was a meal for my husband & me. Think I'll try to use less water when I reconstitute my orange juice to punch up the orange flavor a little & maybe add a tad more vinegar because I like the "sour." Agree, it is a little watery and wouldn't keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hurst, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I had this at my daughter's birthday party. Everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States