Toscana Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Added a few shakes of red pepper some extra potato and this was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Excellent flavor! Both my husband and I loved it. Like other users, I used low-sodium chicken broth in place of the water/soup base. We will definitely be making this soup again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Clemson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Awesome! I used spicy Italian sausage loose and chicken broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
LOVE this soup! My boyfriend has dubbed it his favorite that I make. I didn't have kale on hand so I subbed spinach and to give it a bit more of a savory flavor I changed to 2 cans of Chicken broth to 2 of water. Because of this soup it's a staple to have whipping cream in our fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Made it with spicy sausage. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Best soup ever!! We make this recipe at least once a month, even more in the winter. Love it so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I havent tried this particular recipe but if you want it to taste more like OG's zuppa toscana, you must finish with 1-2 tablespoons of balsalmic vinegar and a capful to taste of vanilla flavoring. Thats how you get the unique flavor that OG achieves with their zuppa toscana. The sausage should be hot italian (well drained) You would also want to add about a cup of chopped celery to the onion for a more flavorful broth. Just made it again for Holiday potluck and as always, it gets rave reviews and everyone's like, OMG, this is just like that soup at OG!! For reference, you can go to the food network website and review Aunt Jojo's Politically incorrect sausage and potato soup. Just add kale and cut back on the excessive amount of cream used in that recipe and there you have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Made this last night, it's my husband's favorite soup at OG. It was soooooo good that even my kids wanted seconds, which in itself says A LOT! I did use Jimmy Dean Spicy ground pork sausage instead of the links, as I don't like dealing with the casings. I cooked it on the stove and put it in a strainer while the soup was cooking. I like the kale softer, so I let it cook a bit longer. It was perfect. NOTE: The spicy sausage and chicken base give it TONS of flavor, so don't be tempted to add any other seasoning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nmc
Home Town: Deptford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mildenhall, Suffolk, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This is my favorite soup at The Olive Garden and I just HAD to get the recipe to make it at home, I have made it several times, sometimes with more or less of some of the ingredients depending on what I have and it's ALWAYS delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I made this, but followed others suggestions. I thickened the base a bit with some cornstarch mixed with warm chicken broth. I didn't use water at all...I had some chicken broth left over from a boiled chicken and used that instead. I added the red pepper flakes to add some heat, salt and pepper to taste, a carrot, a stalk of celery and some mushrooms. And 1 full cup of whipping cream, extra broth and some white wine too. Topped it with grated parmesan cheese like they do in the Italian restaurant. It was very good, much more hearty than what the restaurant serves. My husband scored it a 9 out of 10, so I guess we will be having it again! I'm going to try to freeze the extra soup to be served another time. This is a lot of soup for 2 people. Crumbled bacon might be a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States