Toscana Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I make this recipe fairly frequently, I really like the flavor. I took other reviewers suggestions and mashed half the potato to thicken the soup and substituted milk for the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Ate on this for three days and then ran out. Could have gone more. Sooooo good!! Teens loved it, hubby loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This was soooooo good! I used some smoked sausage that my husband smoked in our smoker. We had about 3 good sized links left over and it was the perfect amount. I am not sure what kind you would use 12 links unless they are the small breakfast sausage links. I did add salt (not much) and my husband thought it was a little too salty. The reason it isn't in the recipe is because the sausage has plenty of salt already in it. I didn't have kale so I used spinach. My husband wants this soup every time we smoke sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I don't eat meat so this was really for my husband and daughter. The hubby said, "Best soup I have ever had".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie47803

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I've never cooked raw sausage before and I had to turn up the heat to 400 to get the inside of the meat to 165. Also I would have probably drained the meat after cooking it so there wasn't so much fat. I used a box (32 oz) chicken broth instead of water and base. And after simmering the potatoes I mashed them up a bit. It was DELISH. My husband loves the OG version and I think this went over lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
So I have to write a review even though I didn't follow the recipe as written (which I know is a heavy foul on my part, but I can't help myself.) The recipe has so much potential! As it is, however, I doubt that it would taste any good to the average person. I used 3 potatoes instead of 2 and ground sausage instead of spicy pork links. I ended up with a lot of "stuff" in my soup which I enjoyed, but isn't necessary if you don't want it. I seasoned the garlic, onions, and sausage to my taste while frying, which did include red crushed peppers like other reviews suggested. Lastly, I used 4 cups of chicken broth instead of water and light cream because I had no heavy cream. The soup came out amazing! I can stop eating it! Especially when I sprinkle parmesean on it. So the recipe itself probably would have been bad (hence the 4 stars), but with a little tweaking, it can be better than the OG's and personalized to fit your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I made a few minor additions to the recipe... Some cayenne, crushed red peppers, a lemon, and this awesome stuff called "butt rub" (that's a real spice blend). Super delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
We *love* this soup and it's a recipe that's made it into my regular recipe rotation now. I try to cook seasonally with local ingredients and since kale and potatoes are ready at the same time, it's a perfect spring and fall meal. (Potatoes keep a long time and hoophouse production extends the production of kale into the winter in my climate, so I actually can make this through most of the winter, too.) I usually use ground spicy sausage--sometimes andouille or chorizo (both locally available) and I add 1-2 cans of white northern beans to give it a little more of a "stew" consistency vs. a "soup" consistency. I also usually add as much kale as the soup will comfortable absorb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Moyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I used TJ's chicken sausage (Sundried tomato and basil) as that is what I had on hand. Used 1 more potato, and pureed some of the potatoes so I didn't need to add the cream. Used better than bouillon as I didn't have chicken stock. Added chilli flakes like someone else commented. Also added garbanzo beans for more protein. It came out delish! Easy to make soup, would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Amazing! My daughter loves Olive Garden's version so I figured I would give it a try. She absolutely loved it and for once complimented my cooking. The recipe was very easy and a definite winner in my household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States