Toscana Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cstillin5
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I too am a big fan of the OG version, so I was skeptical at first. I made it with the bulk cajun sausage first time I wanted to follow the directions exactly. Except when I got to the grocery store I was questioning what kind of pork sausage...breakfast sausage or the bulk sausage? Also it would've been helpful to know what kind of potatoes I just used Idaho. What kind of onion? I used white. And lastly, it's very confusing because the recipe said to use broth but the directions say to use the soup base. I used the soup base. Turned out amazing!!! I would say an instant classic in my home! Next time, I may modify just to see what everyone else is talking about but I think it's perfect just the way it is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Everyone really liked this soup including my picky 4 year old. She gave me double gold stars!!!! Only thing I did differently was I added almost 2 tablespoons of flour to the onions after sautéing them with the garlic and made a roux to help thicken the soup a bit. I also did a half cup heavy cream. It turned out perfect!!!! Better than the restaurants!! I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
It's good, but very salty. I did double the recipe so there were plenty of leftovers, and I'm thinking I shouldn't have doubled the chicken base. I'll probably do this again because it's good and really fast. We'll see if that change makes it a little less salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Easy, fast and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I didn't have chicken soup base, so I substituted part of the water with a can of chicken broth. I used precooked Italian Chicken Sausage links in place of the pork sausage.I sliced the chicken sausage links in bite sized pieces and sauteed with the onions and garlic. If you are not a big fan of kale, try using spinach. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This is my families favourite soup. My changes included using chicken broth instead of water. Also, I used sausage with fennel..squeezed out of the casing and cooked. The fennel adds a fantastic flavour and zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
My husband asks for this soup every week. I do add more potatoes, kale, and sausage. I use the kind that just comes in the tube not the links of sausage because that is what we prefer. I also add more chili flakes because we like it with more kick!! I also just use Swanson broth instead of cubes. It is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Love it! This soup is so easy to make and really hits the spot. I added some wild rice to mine and it thickened up just enough. Serve it with garlic bread and you've got a very filling and healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ramboettrach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by anita
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Quick, one pot meal! Used Italian sausage links but took them out of their casings. Cooked those up in the bottom of a big pot. After those cooked through, made a hole and dumped in the diced onions. Sautéed them a bit till they're almost translucent, then added minced/smashed garlic and stirred it all together with the sausage. Added broth and diced sweet potatoes (because, it's Fall), simmered until cooked through. Added kale and touch of cream, stirred, covered the pot, turned off the heat and let the kale cook down for a few minutes. Ready!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States