Toscana Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Best soup ever!! We make this recipe at least once a month, even more in the winter. Love it so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I havent tried this particular recipe but if you want it to taste more like OG's zuppa toscana, you must finish with 1-2 tablespoons of balsalmic vinegar and a capful to taste of vanilla flavoring. Thats how you get the unique flavor that OG achieves with their zuppa toscana. The sausage should be hot italian (well drained) You would also want to add about a cup of chopped celery to the onion for a more flavorful broth. Just made it again for Holiday potluck and as always, it gets rave reviews and everyone's like, OMG, this is just like that soup at OG!! For reference, you can go to the food network website and review Aunt Jojo's Politically incorrect sausage and potato soup. Just add kale and cut back on the excessive amount of cream used in that recipe and there you have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Made this last night, it's my husband's favorite soup at OG. It was soooooo good that even my kids wanted seconds, which in itself says A LOT! I did use Jimmy Dean Spicy ground pork sausage instead of the links, as I don't like dealing with the casings. I cooked it on the stove and put it in a strainer while the soup was cooking. I like the kale softer, so I let it cook a bit longer. It was perfect. NOTE: The spicy sausage and chicken base give it TONS of flavor, so don't be tempted to add any other seasoning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nmc
Home Town: Deptford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mildenhall, Suffolk, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This is my favorite soup at The Olive Garden and I just HAD to get the recipe to make it at home, I have made it several times, sometimes with more or less of some of the ingredients depending on what I have and it's ALWAYS delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I made this, but followed others suggestions. I thickened the base a bit with some cornstarch mixed with warm chicken broth. I didn't use water at all...I had some chicken broth left over from a boiled chicken and used that instead. I added the red pepper flakes to add some heat, salt and pepper to taste, a carrot, a stalk of celery and some mushrooms. And 1 full cup of whipping cream, extra broth and some white wine too. Topped it with grated parmesan cheese like they do in the Italian restaurant. It was very good, much more hearty than what the restaurant serves. My husband scored it a 9 out of 10, so I guess we will be having it again! I'm going to try to freeze the extra soup to be served another time. This is a lot of soup for 2 people. Crumbled bacon might be a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Outstanding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
LOVED this soup. I did not follow the recipe exactly. I added carrots and celery and mushrooms to the onions browned and set aside. I then took the sausage out of the casing and browned that in the bottom of the soup pot. Added it all together and added the rest of the ingredients. I did thicken my soup with cornstarch. I have to say the mushrooms made this soup great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Make this all the time but I LOVE to add white wine to the recipe and serve it with warm bread sticks, salad and my version of "chicken scampi" from that restaurant as well :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This is a spectacular soup - I made it last night! When I followed the recipe it seemed it needed more broth for the amount of sausage and potato it had in it. So I would and 5-6 cups of water instead, and you can add more cream later if you'd like to even it out. I also did HALF the sausage and added twice to three times the amount of kale asked. The flavor of this soup is incredible and it's more hearty than the one at a certain Italian restaurant. All in all an outstanding soup. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
We are vegetarian so I left out the meat, added orzo, left out the cream (less fat) and used a not beef base vs chicken. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States