Toscana Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Excellent, added about 1/2 cup instant mashed potatoes, a little salt, 1/2 tsp dried basil, used chicken broth and added 2 tsp chicken bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
very good start to the recipie, I made a few changes. I used 1 lb of hot Italian sausage, I browned it along with the onions and garlic, omitted the oil all together. Drain the sausage and onion and blot with a paper towel to remove excess grease. I also added 6 cups of water and 6 tsp of chicken base, and increased the cream to 1 cup. I sliced the potatoes with my mandolin slicer on the thin setting and they came out perfect, next time I will add more potatoes. I will also cut the Kale in to smaller pieces, while the big green leafy pieces make a beautiful presentation, it's a real pain to get on the spoon. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by devaroni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clayton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
My husband loved this! I think it could use a little more cream. The chicken base is key. I've made versions of this soup with and without it and that is the trick to getting the Olive Garden taste. I panfried my sausage after removing it from the casing and I did not slice it (crumbled it instead).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Superb recipe! I absolutely love this dish and is one of the family favorites (kids included)! I crave this at least once a week, but have to pace myself so we don't get burnt out on it, we love it so much! I've even made it without the cream (mashing some of the potato for thickening instead) and it still tastes great. Thanks Ken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Inverness, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
it not too bad, this is the second time i have made it. i normally do not have soup base so i just use a can of broth. then when i still though it bland i added a can of Campbell's cream of chicken and herb too. it was Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This was a huge hit at a holiday party. I didn't use links of sausage. I got a package of Italian style sausage from the butcher and browned it up. I also used a chicken bouillon for the soup base - just followed the directions on the jar. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Added a few shakes of red pepper some extra potato and this was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Excellent flavor! Both my husband and I loved it. Like other users, I used low-sodium chicken broth in place of the water/soup base. We will definitely be making this soup again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Clemson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Awesome! I used spicy Italian sausage loose and chicken broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
LOVE this soup! My boyfriend has dubbed it his favorite that I make. I didn't have kale on hand so I subbed spinach and to give it a bit more of a savory flavor I changed to 2 cans of Chicken broth to 2 of water. Because of this soup it's a staple to have whipping cream in our fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States