Toscana Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Absolutely loved it, I combined both sweet and spicy sausage and it was great. Maybe a tad salty but I was thrilled at my first attempt to make a soup! Tony D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Like many reviewers I made some substitutions. Instead of Breakfast sausage I used hot Italian Sausage, instead of chicken base I used chicken broth (33% fat free), and I added fat free half and half rather than heavy cream. I liked my version better than the restaurant version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SLG
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I usually can't get my husband to eat kale, but he loved this soup! I didn't have any sausage links so I used ground sausage and it was just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Valparaiso, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Definitely a winner!! I have grown kale in my garden for the last two years and this is the BEST soup recipe ever. I add pepper flakes, a splash of cayenne pepper, as well as more kale and an extra potato just to make it heartier and go a bit further. Thanks Ken for submitting...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Since trying this recipe, we have made it dozens of times this year. Being from the South, I use chopped collard greens in place of the kale. (The frozen collards are perfect in a pinch). This is a simply terrific soup. Great for a chilly day, even better for leftovers, if you can get lucky enough to have some left over. Thanks for the recipe, it is a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
This soup is so awesome. I love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Made this with some changes as other reviews...used four cups chicken broth...tbls red pepper flakes...four potatoes ...two cloves if garlic minced...one Tbls parsley..parmesan and cornstarch to thicken...so good and recipe is.going in the recipe box and will be making this often..thanks so much for the recipe :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry, H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
This is one of my favorite recipes on this whole site. I used to be a BIG fan of going to a certain restaurant because of this soup. I would always end up getting the soup, salad and breadsticks there just for this soup! Once I found this recipe and started making it myself, I have not had an urge to return to that restaurant. This is so much better than the restaurant version, and you can control all of the ingredients you put into it to make it your own. I, however, stick pretty much to the recipe as written. I ALWAYS use Johnsonville Italian Sausage in my soup. That is one thing I never substitute. It just tastes the best out of all of the sausages on the market. I have used both the links and the ground and I prefer the ground in this dish. You can go spicy, mild, or sweet with it according to your tastes. I mostly go with the mild unless I will be serving it to my husband, which then I will use the spicy sausage. I will also use milk or half and half in place of the cream simply because I never have cream in my fridge. Other than that, it is exactly as written. It is delicious! The only problem with this soup is my own self control! I have to make myself stop eating it :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
This is REALLY good. Tastes just like the restaurant soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I would give it more stars if I could! This is my number one soup in the winter. Always comes out perfect. Spicy sausage a bit much sometimes for my kids so I usually mix 1/2 mild, 1/2 spicy. I add more kale too just because it's the only time my kids will eat kale. this is my go to dish if I have people over, always a hit and so, so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States