Toscana Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
We doubled it for our family of 5. I loved the amount of sausage and the addition of bacon was a great touch. We used precooked chicken apple sausage and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by esme1701
Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I followed all of the directions, but the potatoes came out too hard. The soup tasted bland until I looked at the reviews. Then I added chicken broth, red pepper flakes, salt, pepper, and Parmesan cheese. It tasted a bit better but I still didn't like it that much. I only used 4 sausage links though compared to 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifertse10

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Fantastic!! Tasted very, very close to the one served at Olive Garden!! I did use ground turkey sausage, and browned it leaving it in big chunks. But other than that, followed the recipe. Even my soup-hating hubby, ate 2 bowls!!! Will make this again, and again, and again.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Loved this recipe!! I added 1/4 c. more heavy cream and some spicy sausage. I'd add more potatoes next time but this recipe is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I make this recipe fairly frequently, I really like the flavor. I took other reviewers suggestions and mashed half the potato to thicken the soup and substituted milk for the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Ate on this for three days and then ran out. Could have gone more. Sooooo good!! Teens loved it, hubby loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This was soooooo good! I used some smoked sausage that my husband smoked in our smoker. We had about 3 good sized links left over and it was the perfect amount. I am not sure what kind you would use 12 links unless they are the small breakfast sausage links. I did add salt (not much) and my husband thought it was a little too salty. The reason it isn't in the recipe is because the sausage has plenty of salt already in it. I didn't have kale so I used spinach. My husband wants this soup every time we smoke sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I don't eat meat so this was really for my husband and daughter. The hubby said, "Best soup I have ever had".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie47803

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I've never cooked raw sausage before and I had to turn up the heat to 400 to get the inside of the meat to 165. Also I would have probably drained the meat after cooking it so there wasn't so much fat. I used a box (32 oz) chicken broth instead of water and base. And after simmering the potatoes I mashed them up a bit. It was DELISH. My husband loves the OG version and I think this went over lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States