Toscana Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I have made this several times. I add a lot more seasoning and chicken broth for flavor. I don't care for the flavor of Italian sausage so I use regular Jimmy Dean sausage for the meat. This is a great recipe for kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I made this last night and I am eating right now for lunch! This was amazing... It is similar to OG's not exactly, but I think it is better... However I did change it up to match my taste. I used (from sunflower market) fresh spicy italian pork sausage and spicy sweet italian chicken sausage, just to give it a deeper flavour. Instead of veg oil I used a little butter and the sausage drippings just again for more flavour. I also added black pepper, lemon pepper, and a little spicy montreal seasoning(mccormick), all to taste. It came out amazing, spicy but in a good creamy buttery way! This is a perfect winter dish! I reccomend it to anyone!!! THANK YOU FOR POSTING THIS!!!!! ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Delicious! Guest could not get enough!!! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Wonderful....I did use lower fat options...such as hot turkey sausage, fat free low sodium chicken broth, fat free 1/2 and 1/2 and a whole bag of fresh spinach instead of kale. Delicious! I also added one can of small white beans drained and rinsed for a fiber/protein boost. Loved this soup! Added extra crushed red pepper flakes to my bowl. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
This was good--but WAYYY too much sausage. Like...ridiculously too much. It was pretty good, but not very memorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanna the Squirrel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
So good! Spicy, peppery and hearty. Substituted the sausage for Morning Star Farms Italian Frozen Veggie Sausages- worked great! Really easy to make. I also substituted the chicken base for a couple bouillon cubes and some chicken broth. I think you could easily just use chicken broth. When you simmer everything together at the end- the flavour really cooks in mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I add cayenne pepper to this and give it a little kick. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessacarbat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
It came out exact as the OG in our town
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slkester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Keizer, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I gave this 5 out of 5 based on my changes. I only used 3 large hot Italian sausages and changed the kale to swiss chard. I also used 6% lite cream instead of heavy cream and it was still delicious. I also replaced the chicken soup base and water with organic chicken stock because I think dry chicken stock is pretty salty. I will absolutely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Vela Ela Ela Eh Eh!!!
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This soup was absolutely AMAZING!!!! I wouldn't have done anything different. I could not believe how easy it was. The flavor, consistency and texture was right on point. Now that I know how to make this soup I will not be ordering it at the Olive Garden anymore. If you follow the recipe as is you should have the same results. Witht the exception of what type of sausage links you use. The flavor of the soup has a lot to do with the sausage and obviously the chicken base. Now that I think about it I use chicken boullion seasoning instead of chicken broth. The flavor was more potent and tasted like an actual soup!!! I noticed that some reviewers said that the soup was too thin but it's supposed to be that way. Just an FYI. Thanks for this terrific receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Vela Ela Ela Eh Eh!!!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Gardena, California, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States