Toscana Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Delicious! I doubled the potatoes and kale, and substituted 1 can evaporated milk for the cream. I also used 1/2 of a smoked sausage diced for the meat. It was very easy and VERY tasty! We'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
My husband is in LOVE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I will admit I changed one thing I used broccoli instead. It was AWESOME! Thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gianasmommii

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I give this recipe 5 stars, only with a few alterations. First, I used more chicken broth than water. I only used two cups of water and I didn't measure the broth, but I'm sure it was more than four cups. Once I had the broth/water mix boiling with the onions, garlic, and potatoes, it was very bland, so I seasoned it with seasoning salt and pepper. I boiled the potatoes in the broth for about 35 minutes (15 minutes was not long enough to make the potatoes soft). I used 1/2 more heavy cream than the recipe called for. I also used Mexican Chorizo sausage instead of spicy pork, and spinach instead of kale. My family was very pleased with the outcome. It is now a favorite soup, and the first I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I also added cornstarch to the broth, more potatoes and used fresh spinach instead of kale. I used gr hot sausage too. The whole family loved it, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
My husband raved about this soup at the dinner table, and later that night to all his friends. I think its a hit! ;) I did make one change: 3 potatoes instead of just two. Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This is amazing this is an Olive garden recipe i tryed it its SOOOO GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I used one 5 pack of Johnsonville's mild Italian sausage links and used chicken bouillon instead of chicken soup base. I definitely kept adding more than the mentioned 2 tablespoons to add more flavor. If I had more time I might have made chicken broth from chicken bones for more flavor but the chicken bouillon worked just fine. Didn't have cornstarch on hand so I used flour instead (mixing it in hot water before adding it to the broth). I like my soup with more potatoes so I added 3-4 more. Be sure to add the kale just a minute or two before serving so it won't overcook (and turn into a not so nice shade of green). Served this as part of Thanksgiving dinner with my family and they loved it. Be careful not to add too much salt because the once the sausages sit in the soup it might get too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by resilient

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I stuck as close as possible to this recipe based on the ingredients I had on hand. It was 5pm and I had nothing defrosted for dinner so I made this last minute and did not have very high expectations for it. Boy was I wrong!! For such simple ingredients, this soup was bursting with flavor. So delicious! I don't think five stars is enough. We don't eat pork, so I substituted spicy vegetarian links (from wegmans). I also used 4 cups of homemade roasted veggie stock in place of the water and chicken soup base - next time I will try it with chicken and see if the stock was the reason for the soup being so extremely flavorful. Instead of kale, I used frozen spinach and instead of heavy cream I used 1/2 cup of half and half. I also added salt and pepper to taste and some cayenne pepper for additional heat. I usually serve a butternut squash soup for Thanksgiving and I think this year I will replace it with this soup instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States