Toscana Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Absolutely wonderful! The family loved this soup. The only change I made to this recipe was to use fat free 1/2 & 1/2 to help cut the fat down a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Scharf Rhodes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Susanville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
delish better than OG used bulk hot pork sausage browned w / onion and garlic 2. chix broth 2 c. water used 1/3 c. evap milk for cream also added red pepper flakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I made this the other day and I must say--I have added it to my top 20 recipes! This is wonderful--I made no changes unless you call using spicy Italian sausage a change. PERFECT, warms the tummy and the heart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littleride

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This was excellent! It wasn't that difficult to make and the results were mouth watering. Will definitely be making this soup again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This is sooooo good! I browned all of the sausage, then sauteed the onion and garlic, then put it all in a crockpot for four hours....DELICIOUS!!! Thank you so very much for the recipe...OG just lost a soup and salad customer!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefintrainingturner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I gave it a 4 star as written but with these adjustments it is definitely a 5 star. The one thing that is missing from this recipe is bacon. Instead of using vegetable oil to cook the onions in, use 2 strips of bacon cut up in small pieces. I used 2 large cloves of garlic and 3 potatoes. I removed the sausage from its casing, broke it up and browned in skillet. I then drained it and added 1/2 cup flour to the sausage and mixed it up until the flour is invisible. I used chicken broth instead of the base and water and I added 1 tablespoon crushed red pepper. Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi79

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Great soup! Very easy and lots of flavor. I made some changes to the recipe. I added more of the potatoes and Kale than called for, about twice the amount. I also did not use sausage links, used regular pork sausage, a 16 oz. roll, and cooked before adding it to the soup, very good. I used chicken broth instead of the water and soup base. Because I used more potatoes, sausage and kale I had to use more liquid also. Probably about 7 cups of broth and a cup of heavy cream. The soup was very yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
The store was out of kale, so I just used spinach. I used low-sodium chicken broth for all the liquid (instead of broth and water) and I also used evaporated milk instead of heavy cream, to keep it healthier. Absolutely deelish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoJo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sctaylor25
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Excellent Soup - My changes were the following: Used 1 Box (4 c) Chicken Broth instead of water and soup base; 1 pkg Mild Italian Sausage Links (casings removed) instead of sliced sausage links; 1 pkg spinach instead of Kale. This was fast, easy, tasty and hit the spot! Will double the recipe in the future--it was gone too fast! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sctaylor25
Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This was so amazing!!!! I did also put more garlic and kale. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States