Toscana Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This is sooooo good! I browned all of the sausage, then sauteed the onion and garlic, then put it all in a crockpot for four hours....DELICIOUS!!! Thank you so very much for the recipe...OG just lost a soup and salad customer!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefintrainingturner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I gave it a 4 star as written but with these adjustments it is definitely a 5 star. The one thing that is missing from this recipe is bacon. Instead of using vegetable oil to cook the onions in, use 2 strips of bacon cut up in small pieces. I used 2 large cloves of garlic and 3 potatoes. I removed the sausage from its casing, broke it up and browned in skillet. I then drained it and added 1/2 cup flour to the sausage and mixed it up until the flour is invisible. I used chicken broth instead of the base and water and I added 1 tablespoon crushed red pepper. Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi79

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Great soup! Very easy and lots of flavor. I made some changes to the recipe. I added more of the potatoes and Kale than called for, about twice the amount. I also did not use sausage links, used regular pork sausage, a 16 oz. roll, and cooked before adding it to the soup, very good. I used chicken broth instead of the water and soup base. Because I used more potatoes, sausage and kale I had to use more liquid also. Probably about 7 cups of broth and a cup of heavy cream. The soup was very yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
The store was out of kale, so I just used spinach. I used low-sodium chicken broth for all the liquid (instead of broth and water) and I also used evaporated milk instead of heavy cream, to keep it healthier. Absolutely deelish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoJo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sctaylor25
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Excellent Soup - My changes were the following: Used 1 Box (4 c) Chicken Broth instead of water and soup base; 1 pkg Mild Italian Sausage Links (casings removed) instead of sliced sausage links; 1 pkg spinach instead of Kale. This was fast, easy, tasty and hit the spot! Will double the recipe in the future--it was gone too fast! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sctaylor25
Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This was so amazing!!!! I did also put more garlic and kale. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This soup was great-tasting. I did not have heavy cream, so I used a 'milk and butter' substitute instead. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
So delicious and easy!! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Delicious! I doubled the potatoes and kale, and substituted 1 can evaporated milk for the cream. I also used 1/2 of a smoked sausage diced for the meat. It was very easy and VERY tasty! We'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
My husband is in LOVE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States