Toscana Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
This was a pretty good start, but you have to personalize it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheLazyChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
This soup was INCREDIBLE!!! I used plain sausage links and pan cooked them in onions and Italian Seasoning. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This is my hubby's favorite meal. We double it, and use about 1/3 lb. Spicy bulk sausage, plus about a pkg of plain pork sausage links sauteed in the pan, rather than baking it. I also can't find anything called "nutritional yeast" at my grocer, so I just use the miso, and it's excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YALIINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Used bulk sausage instead of links. Soup is on the stove, not quite finished - but I just had a taste, and WOW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Fantastic soup, we loved it. Followed the recipe pretty closely, though I added carrots and celery, a bit of savory and a tiny pinch of thyme. Instead of heavy cream I used a can of evaporated milk. Altogether a great soup, can't wait to serve it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALIERRAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
yuuuuuuuuuum! found this recipe when i got a bunch of kale in my co-op basket this week -- turns out my husband, 1 year old and i LOVE kale. i used 1 lbs sausage (1/2 sweet, 1/2 spicy) and fried it up with the onion and garlic, then drained the grease. added a couple extra potatoes, then pulled 1/2 potatoes out and pureed and added back in for thickness...then needed an extra cup of water. used whole milk instead of cream and worked fine. only did 1 1/2 TB boullion but it was still really salty (and declicious!) thanks for the recipe, we're saving it for the next bunch of kale! UPDATE: got another bunch of kale, made this soup again, still love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Very good with some of the modifications suggested by previous reviewers. Used more potatoes and steamed the kale. Used all chicken broth and added some cornstarch to thicken. I only had turkey sausage patties from Jimmy Dean and they worked well after chopping them up. Also added some red pepper flakes. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This soup was both easy and DELICIOUS! I used Johnsonville mild ground Italian sausage instead of the links and everyone thought it was great! My picky 11 year old gobbled it up (except for the kale which I made her try) and my even more picky 5 year old ate the broth (he was not having the sausage, potatoes or kale - which I made him try as well)! For those of you with super picky kids, you can understand that this was a giant leap/victory in the quest to get my kids to eat a variety of foods. So thank you, Ken Miller, for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Excellent, added about 1/2 cup instant mashed potatoes, a little salt, 1/2 tsp dried basil, used chicken broth and added 2 tsp chicken bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
very good start to the recipie, I made a few changes. I used 1 lb of hot Italian sausage, I browned it along with the onions and garlic, omitted the oil all together. Drain the sausage and onion and blot with a paper towel to remove excess grease. I also added 6 cups of water and 6 tsp of chicken base, and increased the cream to 1 cup. I sliced the potatoes with my mandolin slicer on the thin setting and they came out perfect, next time I will add more potatoes. I will also cut the Kale in to smaller pieces, while the big green leafy pieces make a beautiful presentation, it's a real pain to get on the spoon. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by devaroni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clayton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States