Tortillas II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Awesome! The dough turned out great, followed other's advice and omitted the baking powder. No more store bought tortillas for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
These were great and super easy to make. I tried to make then a little healthier and used EVOO instead of shortening and whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly, but my tortillas were dry, hard to roll out, and after cooking them they tasted like a cracker. For me it will be better to keep buying them from the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This recipe worked well. I believe this takes some practice though. The first batch turned out a bit tough and floury, but I would attribute that to my skill and not this recipe. The second batched turned out much better. However, some toritillas were tougher than others. So, inconsistent throughout the batch. I give this recipe 4 stars as I think it is the right mix of ingredients. One needs to enhance their skills at handling the dough to get the right result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Very easy to make and tasted wonderful. I don't buy tortillas any more. No reason to when they are so quick to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I am having a very hard time getting the dough to stop sticking. It's so sticky it's impossible to knead. I tried waiting an additional 15 minutes with no luck. Then I tried adding more flour. I added almost an extra 1/2 C of flour. Still nothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Worked perfectly. Had no problems. Only thing different I would mention is add an extra 1/4 of a cup of water total to get the right texture for the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
very good very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by senkyb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I was expecting tortillas to be much harder to make. This recipe was super easy, very few ingredients which make them tons and tons cheaper than the grocery store. The only change I made was to use half whole wheat flour and half all purpose. I also needed quite a bit more water but that probably had to do with the flour switch. I only ended up with 7 or so, so next time I'll double or triple the recipe. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
These had a very nice flavor, much better even than the preservative-free "homestyle" tortillas you get at Whole Foods. You do need to let the dough rest for quite a while, at least 30 minutes, to allow the gluten to relax before rolling them. I also found they needed just a bit more water, but I think this depends on the brand of flour you use. I used King Arthur, which does seem to absorb more liquid than others I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States