Tortillas II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Great simple base recipe. Very helpful instructions. I substituted 1.5 cups whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup flax for some flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mander

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
wow! No more store bought, preservative laden tortillas for me. I make this as written for company, but when its just me and my daughter, I use whole grain flour, a couple tbl spoons of ground flax and wheat germ. So much cheaper and tastier than the ones at the store. Eating so healthy is the only way I can maintain my "skinny" weight. Thanks for making it so easy for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
These were easy to make, but they were really hard and dry. I have another recipe I tried yesterday with just flour, olive oil, salt and water that I liked better - I'm just using that from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Fabulous recipe! I used 1 cup of whole wheat flour and 1 cup of all-purpose flour instead. I will never buy tortillas again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
too dry. Subbed one third whole wheat flour, maybe that's what did it. had to ad a lot more water and still went crunchy way too fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
These tortillas are wonderful! My only complaint is that it didn't make too many. I cut them in 12 like the recipe called for, but they were a little on the small side (we were using the for burritos, and we like to stuff our burritos.) so I only got 6 tortillas out of this recipe. And like someone else mentioned: Put them immediately into a plastic bag. Any kind of plastic bag will do as long as it doesn't have holes it in. This will keep the steam in and keep the tortillas soft and flexible. Every tortilla recipe I tried came out hard and they would break when you try to fold them, I almost gave up on home made tortillas until I read that tip, so I'd like to give a BIG thank you to the review who mentioned the plastic bag technique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I did not add baking powder as another reviewer suggested, and WOW!! Elastic, yummy, perfect. Not too hard to make either :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Really good! I doubled the shortening and the salt and the water too. I also used half whole wheat flour. This only made about 4 normal size tortillas, though, so double or triple for a larger group. Delicious and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kchris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I'm horrible with making dough so, these came out too think, but taste great. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Umma Threads
Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States