Tortillas II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Good! Will try to make these instead of store bought from now on.. when time allows it! Roll out as thin as possible, they do thicken some when cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I tried the recipe as directed...I did not like it! I made the following changes: doubled the amount of shortening, used hot water and added sugar (1 teaspoon. They were softer and tastier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocolategirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
These were incredibly thick. I kept cutting it and then rolling it out again and it kept popping back. Even my tortilla press was of little use. Despite the fact that they were a lot thicker and had a small diameter, the taste was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Roberts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tunnelton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Made this last night and they turned out great. My menu was fajitas with all the fixings and wanted to attempt homemade tortillas. Boyfriend loves fajitas and was so impressed that I don't think I could ever go back to store bought. Fresh is always best! **Will admit that rolling out the dough was tough and I had to request his assistance for the last ones. I made 8 perfectly shaped tortillas and 2 oddly shaped testers. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tatty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Awesomely easy, and yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Although I made changes I will still rate this 5 stars. After reading some reviews I reduced the baking powder to 1/2 t and increased the shortening to 2T. I also used 1/2c wheat and 1 & 1/2 AP. I will use this recipe again and use all AP flour and increase the salt a tad. I did use very hot water and let the dough rest 1 hour. It handled, rolled and cooked well. My yield was 7 8" + 1 6" and thanks to whom ever suggested using a pot lid to shape them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
So easy! I didn't have shortening, so I used butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookingWithAntwon
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I LOVED them, no exaggeration. This was a very basic tortilla and yet they were better than any store-bought brand I've even bought. I halved the recipe and made TWELVE mini tortillas... and they tasted great; made some great chicken fajitas with them! Next time, I'll add garlic powder and white pepper for more flavor. I recommend these to anyone who wants to try the real deal and not the store-bought with 10 unnecessary ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingWithAntwon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
so unbelievably good right out of the pan with cheese and hot sauce. much easier than i thought tortillas would be. may try coconut oil sometime since i'm having a hard time finding good quality lard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I'm just learning the art of tortilla making, so my rating could be a bit unfair to the recipe. This is the second one I've tried and I'm very happy with the taste - fresh tortillas are amazing. I have a lot of trouble rolling them out, even though I add extra liquid and let the dough rest. I probably need a smaller rolling pin, etc and I'll be able to roll them out thinner, which I think makes them a lot better. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States