Tortillas II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Made this last night and they turned out great. My menu was fajitas with all the fixings and wanted to attempt homemade tortillas. Boyfriend loves fajitas and was so impressed that I don't think I could ever go back to store bought. Fresh is always best! **Will admit that rolling out the dough was tough and I had to request his assistance for the last ones. I made 8 perfectly shaped tortillas and 2 oddly shaped testers. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tatty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Awesomely easy, and yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Although I made changes I will still rate this 5 stars. After reading some reviews I reduced the baking powder to 1/2 t and increased the shortening to 2T. I also used 1/2c wheat and 1 & 1/2 AP. I will use this recipe again and use all AP flour and increase the salt a tad. I did use very hot water and let the dough rest 1 hour. It handled, rolled and cooked well. My yield was 7 8" + 1 6" and thanks to whom ever suggested using a pot lid to shape them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
So easy! I didn't have shortening, so I used butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ManVsFood
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I LOVED them, no exaggeration. This was a very basic tortilla and yet they were better than any store-bought brand I've even bought. I halved the recipe and made TWELVE mini tortillas... and they tasted great; made some great chicken fajitas with them! Next time, I'll add garlic powder and white pepper for more flavor. I recommend these to anyone who wants to try the real deal and not the store-bought with 10 unnecessary ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ManVsFood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
so unbelievably good right out of the pan with cheese and hot sauce. much easier than i thought tortillas would be. may try coconut oil sometime since i'm having a hard time finding good quality lard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I'm just learning the art of tortilla making, so my rating could be a bit unfair to the recipe. This is the second one I've tried and I'm very happy with the taste - fresh tortillas are amazing. I have a lot of trouble rolling them out, even though I add extra liquid and let the dough rest. I probably need a smaller rolling pin, etc and I'll be able to roll them out thinner, which I think makes them a lot better. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Not very easy to roll out to desired size and a bit stiff for fajita-rolling, but overall a great recipe for tortillas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithfield, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Glocester, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
I love home made tortillas. I substitute Armour Lard for the shortening and they come out perfect every time! If you have a tortilla (mine is terra cotta), put the tortillas in it as soon as you cook them, it will hold the warmth & moisture. I store the leftovers in a zip-loc after dinner...they stay very moist this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitesboro, Texas, USA
Living In: Sanger, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
These were very easy to make and tasted good. My biggest complaint is the quantity. I managed to get 8 small tortillas out of this. And only by rolling them paper thin. Next time I'm either making it into 6 or doing a recipe and a half. I have no idea how the original recipe writer managed to get 12!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States