Tortillas II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Although I made changes I will still rate this 5 stars. After reading some reviews I reduced the baking powder to 1/2 t and increased the shortening to 2T. I also used 1/2c wheat and 1 & 1/2 AP. I will use this recipe again and use all AP flour and increase the salt a tad. I did use very hot water and let the dough rest 1 hour. It handled, rolled and cooked well. My yield was 7 8" + 1 6" and thanks to whom ever suggested using a pot lid to shape them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
So easy! I didn't have shortening, so I used butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ManVsFood
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I LOVED them, no exaggeration. This was a very basic tortilla and yet they were better than any store-bought brand I've even bought. I halved the recipe and made TWELVE mini tortillas... and they tasted great; made some great chicken fajitas with them! Next time, I'll add garlic powder and white pepper for more flavor. I recommend these to anyone who wants to try the real deal and not the store-bought with 10 unnecessary ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ManVsFood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
so unbelievably good right out of the pan with cheese and hot sauce. much easier than i thought tortillas would be. may try coconut oil sometime since i'm having a hard time finding good quality lard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I'm just learning the art of tortilla making, so my rating could be a bit unfair to the recipe. This is the second one I've tried and I'm very happy with the taste - fresh tortillas are amazing. I have a lot of trouble rolling them out, even though I add extra liquid and let the dough rest. I probably need a smaller rolling pin, etc and I'll be able to roll them out thinner, which I think makes them a lot better. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Not very easy to roll out to desired size and a bit stiff for fajita-rolling, but overall a great recipe for tortillas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithfield, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Glocester, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
I love home made tortillas. I substitute Armour Lard for the shortening and they come out perfect every time! If you have a tortilla (mine is terra cotta), put the tortillas in it as soon as you cook them, it will hold the warmth & moisture. I store the leftovers in a zip-loc after dinner...they stay very moist this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitesboro, Texas, USA
Living In: Sanger, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
These were very easy to make and tasted good. My biggest complaint is the quantity. I managed to get 8 small tortillas out of this. And only by rolling them paper thin. Next time I'm either making it into 6 or doing a recipe and a half. I have no idea how the original recipe writer managed to get 12!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Simple. Yummy. NO PRESERVATIVES! Rolled them out between plastic wrap, and placed them immediately after cooking into a plastic bag. I'm not a fan of plastic, but I got the results I was hoping for. Mission Tortillas can chalk off another customer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
These came out great. Fairly crisp (The thinner the crisper I'm guessing) although some were a bit softer and those seemed to be the slightly thicker ones. I made these for ground chicken tacos and they were a hit! No need to run to the store - the rolling may take a bit of time but it sure was deliciously worth it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking_Enchantress

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Tamarac, Florida, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States