Tortillas II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
These were good, easy to roll, but had floury taste, still not bad. Another thing, this recipe needs some adjustment, use less flour or more liquid, 3/4-1 c water not 1/2 for sure, more oil. I would not say they are better than mission tortillas. I will tweak this recipe or try another one next time, and with vegetable oil instead of crisco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I used butter instead of shortening and made sure the water was very hot. I probably rolled too much and added too much flour, but they still came out beautifully and remain soft after 3 days. I don't think I'll be buying grocery store tortillas again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammyjammy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This recipe was quite easy to put together, I ended up with slightly crispy tortillas but they went over well with the family, that's what counts! Would definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharron Kilpatrick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I recently read the list of ingredients on store-bought tortillas and was horrified, so I decided to make my own. I chose this recipe based on the ratings and reviews. It was easy, fast, and fun, and the tortillas are delicious. I used lard instead of shortening, and had to add an extra tablespoon to get the required cornmeal consistency. Dividing my dough into twelve rounds made for small, roughly 4" tortillas. I'm also not practiced at rolling so they came out in odd shapes. I fried one at a time, so with that small amount of practice by the end I had two good-sized, round ones I was proud of. I ate my very first hot, homemade tortilla with jam. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
super yummy! I had to use like 2 tablespoons extra of water because the dough was so dry. I also used a comal to cook it. Overall the best I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schiller Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Belvidere, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
didn't need all the water, didn't let it rest, and they turned out really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Made as directed. Used baking powder without aluminuim (I think regular baking powder has a bitter after-taste). I will never use store-bought again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
These are great! Didn't change a thing (wait...did use butter instead of shortening) and will definitely be making these instead of store bought from now on. SUPER SIMPLE! My two daughters, 11 and 14 had a blast making these and rolling them out. I think they have great flavor and depending on how they were rolled out...either resembled "gordita" type bread or regular flour tortillas. Both my girls did a batch each. One made 9 tortillas and the other made 7. (the batch that made 7 were thicker and more like the gordita type bread) Yummy! Thanks for sharing the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Milligan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uccle, Brussels, Belgium
Living In: Derby, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Really good and really easy. The fam bam liked them. They only wished I had made them larger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LolaMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albertville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Photo by Tera
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I did everything accordingly except I wanted mine big so I only made eight. Some were on the thick side, some were on the thin side. Some burned and some were perfect. Some were round and some were not. Careful on getting too much loose flour on your skillet cause it creates a chalky burn likeness on your tortilla. I just wiped my skillet over the the sink with a paper towel and continued. I didnt use hot water like some reviews suggested and I gave them ,as said, only fifteen minutes with a wet towel before rolling out. Great recipe! I will keep practicing so I can show this recipe off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States