Tortillas II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
These are great but i had to make them twice the first batch did not have enough water, so they were hard and craking and i surely could not bend them, i threw that batch out and tried again, this time i added water until the dough formed a ball but was almost to the sticky stage but if you get to the sticky stage add more flour, i formed little balls and I let them rest for 30 mins, you should be able to roll out the dough without any cracks forming along the edges and it not be sticky, when cooked they were perfect i was able to bend them and they are going to be perfect in tonight dinner. Good luck all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonit22

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I love home made tortillas and this was a good recipe. I did use lard instead of shorting and i cooked them in a non stick pan on medhigh to high for about 5sec on each side then put them in a zip lock that had a moist paper towel in it imediatly until i was ready to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
These are so much better than store bought! My family loved them. I deep fried the left overs and sprinkled cinnamon and sugar on them. Just wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathy.marchand

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
These were really good! I didn't end up cooking them very long because after the first one (I let it get bubbly like the recipe states) I could tell they would be too crunchy to roll up for the burritos I was making. I also used half whole wheat flour and they were perfect! Thanks for an easy tortilla recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I just want to know how to keep the tortillas soft. The recipe worked ok, I guess, but they got too crisp too fast, and broke when we tried to eat them. I put them in a plastic bag as they came off the griddle, with a damp tea towel inside the bag, and that didn't work. Help? Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This is the authentic recipe for tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ciudad De México, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Living In: Cuernavaca, Morelos, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lobsteriffic
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
These were pretty good and surprisingly easy to make. I had to use about double the shortening to get the right consistency, and a tiny bit more water. Next time I will try and sub butter or margarine as I try to avoid using shortening as much as possible. I found the dough quite easy to roll out. They don't stay soft long though...unless there is a way to store them that I am not aware of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Let me just say I am not Mexican. I don't have any beautiful stories about my grandma rolling out tortillas, 20 dozen at a time. And actualy, I like store bought tortillas. My mom always bought tortillas from the grocery store, I've always bought tortillas from the grocery store, and my 3-year old son loves to snack on a good old Mission-brand tortilla plain. Recently we moved to Switzerland and store bought tortillas are about $6 or $7 for a bag of 5! I was looking for a recipe in hopes that they wouldn't be too different than the store bought tortillas I have grown up on. These are perfect, sure I made my adjustments (more fat, mmm)and they ended up looking more like ameobas than circles. But they were great and close to store bought, just a little better. My son still loves to snack on these plain and we can do everything we did with the good ole' mission brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I roll these onto a surface sprayed with a mist of oil and with a rolling pin misted as well. This keeps them just right for the cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Super easy and turned out nicely. Mine came out thin and kind of delicate. I didn't use hot water, uh was I supposed to? The dough was really sticky when I made 6 little balls of it, but I floured my hands well and the rolling pin too and they turned out just like I get at a local taqueria! My first homemade tortillas... so simple. The taste was decent too, but not anything wow. I used White Wings flour as it's recommended for tortilla making. I cut this in half and got 6 tortillas just as stated. To keep these warm and make them soft, I put them in my tortilla keeper as soon as they are done and put the lid on, by the time you have cooked the last one, the others are all still warm and very soft and pliable too. Thanks Teresa for sharing this, I really enjoyed trying these. UPDATE: Second time around I made the full recipe. I used the hottest tap water and it did take more than the given amount to get the dough to ball up. Somehow I got 13 tortillas out of this? They weren't 7 inches, only 6. I have trouble getting them circular as mine are a bit lopsided as you can see in the pic, but they were almost as good as my favorite taqueria's so who cares?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States