Tortillas II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
These were perfect flexible, tender, soft, great tasting tortillas. I used butter flavored shortening and hot water but followed recipe to a T and got great tortillas. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvisgood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Taste great!!! Made these tonight for our fajitas. My daughter & I loved them; much better than store bought. Hubby not home, but sure he will feel the same way. I used 1/2 tsp. salt & baking powder, and about 1/4 cup shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Primes Rayburn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Perkinston, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
Great recipe! This was the first time I made tortillas and I loved them! So much better than store bought tortillas. I did have to use more water than the recipe called for. I don't know if this is an altitude thing since I live in a pretty high altitude but I used about 1/4 cup more hot water. I also used 2 TBL shortening instead of 1. It made 10 tortillas for me. I think the trick is rolling them very very very thin. That way you will get more out of the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Excellent recipe! Reminds me of the tortillas my grandma makes. I didn't follow the recipe exactly, I used it as a guideline. Then, instead of measuring everything exactly, I just measured it out in my hand and guessed so I may have been a bit more or a bit less on ingredients but it wouldn't have been by much. And they came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Doubled the recipe - turned out really well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Yippee!! Much better than other tortilla recipes I've tried. The dough actually allows you to roll it thin which is essential. I think the most helpful instruction was to get the flour/ shortening to the texture of cornmeal. Way to spell it out! I also used warm water as another reviewer suggested and found the dough very pliable and strechy. My life has been seriously lacking Mexican food since I moved to Europe 4 years ago... not anymore!! Now if I could just find some masa harina over here to try corn tortillas... doubtful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I actually tried this recipe and found it so easy to make,I couldn't remember how my mother made them when I was younger but after I made them they tasted just like mom's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LorrieandMel Villarreal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conroe, Texas, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
I liked these enough to make them my regular recipe. This recipe doesn't make many (and we like our tortillas a little larger to hold fillings) so next time I will double or possibly triple the recipe. Overall this was an easy recipe my daughter helped me make and they were soft and yummy! Oh, and I don't have a cast iron skillet but they worked just fine in my non-stick skillet. *****UPDATE: These are even great with all purpose white flour - in fact, we liked them better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
I probably messed this up since everyone else seems to love these. I used King Arthur's white whole wheat flour. I halfed the recipe but wasn't able to make 6 tortillas, I made 2 that were about 10". Didn't taste good to me, but I'd like to try them again with regular white flour and maybe use a cast iron skillet instead of nonstick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Photo by Nuggets
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
These are great! Loved the flavor and the texture. I didn't really measure the shortening, I just put a few spoonfuls in. To make a uniform shape I rolled the dough balls out and then used a saucepan lid to cut them into perfect circles. With the leftover dough I just made one odd shaped one! For me this recipe made six 7 inch tortillas and the one smaller odd shaped tortilla. Will definitely use this recipe again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States