Tortillas II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by Nuggets
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
These are great! Loved the flavor and the texture. I didn't really measure the shortening, I just put a few spoonfuls in. To make a uniform shape I rolled the dough balls out and then used a saucepan lid to cut them into perfect circles. With the leftover dough I just made one odd shaped one! For me this recipe made six 7 inch tortillas and the one smaller odd shaped tortilla. Will definitely use this recipe again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I thought there were horrible! Took the dough 1 cup of water to even start to come together. When I put them on my tortilla press they came out like chips. It was a horrible experiance. The dough was hard as a rock after 5 minutes of sitting out. Even the "just add water" kind was better then this. Won't make again this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy31179

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
I didn't know I could make a tortilla! Yeah! I will say, doing 12 pieces never got to 7 inches for me, so I will do less next time. (update, I did 6 pieces - MUCH BETTER!) The flour and shortening never really got to the consitency described, but that was ok. It all still worked. The only change the the recipe for me was I warmed up the water. Again, mine were small and came out more like soft shells for tacos. No prob though, we had it with rice, refried beans, salsa, and cheese. Yummy and Fun for the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Photo by Zory
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
After having disaster with Whole Wheat Wraps from this site I was hesitant to try another tortilla recipe. But I decided to give this recipe a shot after reading the good reviews As others suggested, I added 1/2 tsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp salt and made the dough in my food processor. I let the dough rest for 25 minutes. The dough was like a play dough texture. The shaping was the hardest part and none of mine were round but just as tasty or even better than store bought ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zory

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Since I live in the country side in Japan, it is hard to get tortillas. I have to drive more than an hour to get them. So I decided to make them myself. I took some advises here: used 3 tbs of shortening and let them rest more than an hour. The result came very good. it was easy to roll the dough. Didn't stick to hands and a rolling stick at all, though I used enough flour when I rolled them. I thought they tasted better than tortillas from shops. However, the tortillas became hard a minute later I finished baking...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kahori526

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
These were very good - I used half whole wheat flour. However, I think tortillas are just one of those things that are easier to buy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Yum! I suggest making eight rather than twelve with this recipe. Even when I got them as flat as they would go, they were still very small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
These are wonderful. Turned out perfect. My only change was to warm the water a little. The first two were mis-shapen so slowed down and made into round disc shapes first before rolling thin. Fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quiggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delta, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
After trying other recipes (Authentic Mexican Tortillas and Mexican Whole Wheat Flour Tortillas) I can say this one is the one I like best. It is low in fat but tastes great! It is easy to make and if you let it rest at least 1 hour it rolls out thin and holds together like the ones you buy at the store. I took the advice of other reviewers and used very hot water and was careful to not overcook them. That is very important to be sure they are soft enough to fold. It only takes about 10-15 seconds per side. I also like 10-12 inch tortillas so I only made 7 out of the recipe so they would be big enough for soft tacos for my teen age boys. With the price of store tortillas going up so much this is a great way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Mackay Henslee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
We had middle school girls in our after-school program make these, and they came out really really good! I think they had a little trouble pressing them the right amount (they were thick), but a tortilla press would've been really helpful for that... The flavor was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States