Tortillas II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
***FOR NON-CRUNCHY TORTILLAS, PLACE COOKED TORTILLAS IN A PLASTIC BAG. IT GETS MOISTURE BACK IN IT AND WILL MAKE THEM SOFT AND PLIABLE. ALSO MAKE SURE YOU DON'T OVER COOK THEM.*** I've made tortillas before and I would have to say that these turned out very good. I made Bacon 'n' Egg Wraps with the tortillas and my husband was amazed at the ease and speed of making such a wonderful breakfast. ***MODIFICATION*** I substituted the shortening with equal amounts of butter. Tortilla recipe would make 6 servings. ***UPDATE*** To make tortilla bowls for taco salad, I placed uncooked tortillas on top of a ball of aluminum foil. Make sure you spray the ball with PAM so it doesn't stick. Cook for 400 degrees for about 10-15 minutes, depending how big the tortillas are. This makes healthier non-fried bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Wow, I am so impressed by these tortillas. I tripled the recipe, which made 13 huge burrito sized tortillas. I won't use another recipe. Did have to add a little more water than suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Very good! I used them to make burritos. I wish I would of tested one before being made into a burrite. I only got 6 tortillas from this recipe, I tried to get 12, but they were too little. Before making them again, I am going to get a tortilla press. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I was really intimidated by the thought of making my own tortillas but my husband wanted them so I made them and it ended up being very simple. I actually made them last night and we ate them all and then I made them again today for the leftover filling for lunch. The first time I accidently only added 1/2 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp baking powder and they still turned out fine but I think the texture was better today with the full amt of salt and baking powder. I too had to add extra water - almost double and I also used a little more than double the shortening in order to get my flour to the right consistency. Today it took me about 45 minutes from start to finish - including the 15 min resting time with my two year old "helping" and making the rest of lunch. Definately worth it. When rolling the dough, I found that it was easiest for me to flatten it into discs, roll it a bit and then pick it up with my hands and sorta let it stretch pizza dough style- which i have never done before and there was no tossing involved but it gave the tortillas a better shape than just rolling. Also last night I let the dough rest for over an hour and this was unnecessary as it was just as easy to handle today after only 15 min of rest. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTIN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Good recipe for flour tortillas but I used hot water instead and rolled them out real thin to create a softer tortilla. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
really good. rolling is alot of work i think it is worth it. my husband is a corn tortilla guy but said these are his favorites now and my daughter, who is 3, took a bite and said 'Mom, it's good.' works for me. subbed butter flavored crisco for plain cause that is what i had. did everything else by the book. yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontonagon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
They were dry and crunchy and tasted too floury. Even after cooling for a bit, they never got soft. My son wouldn't take more than a bite and my husband wasn't at all impressed. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I had no idea how easy it would be to make tortillas. I used butter flavored shortening and hot water. They turned out great, but I need to work on the shaping a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edinburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Very good! I made homemade pork chop chile, some rice, beans, and these were super with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sPi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I've tried a few different recipes for tortillas and I like these the best. They were light and fluffy and had good flavor. They were very soft and flexible. I used some suggestions by other reviewers and made sure I used the hottest water I could get out of my tap and I made sure I didn't cook them to long. Maybe only 30-35 seconds per side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States